Are Fritos Vegan?

Are Fritos Vegan

Fritos are one of the most famous corn chips that have been a household favorite globally for more than 80 years! Whether it’s eaten solo or as an essential component of a dish, this crispy salt cracker is a filling snack, to say the least.

However, for all those who enforce sustainable eating habits – there is only one question that comes to mind, “are Fritos vegan?” In this article, we discuss how Fritos are made, and dissect the Fritos ingredient label to give you a clear insight into what you’re consuming. Right from Fritos BBQ chips to Fritos scoops, we are going to assess all the Fritos Flavors to inform you about any Fritos flavors that can or cannot be consumed by vegans.

Fritos – Brand Overview

Are Fritos Vegan?

Fritos is an American brand of corn chips that was started by Charles Elmer Doolin after his experience of trying corn chips in Mexico. These salted chips are made out of just three ingredients: corn, corn oil, and salt.

Fritos have been on the market for more than 80 years and are usually the first brand that comes to mind when thinking about corn chips. 

How Are Fritos Made?

Fritos follow a basic corn-chip recipe that involves salt and oil. Its ingredients to be specific are- 

  • Cornmeal that has been stone-ground or another fine cornmeal 
  • Salt
  • Extra virgin olive oil or vegetable oil
  • Optional vegetable oil for frying

The procedure is not very complex and involves simple steps.

Step 1. One must set aside two pieces of parchment that are the same size as a baking sheet, then one must boil about a 3/4 cup of water.

Step 2. Next, combine cornmeal and salt in a small mixing dish, and mix with the help of a fork till the batter is smooth. If required, add extra hot water 1 teaspoon at a time until the batter is thick and somewhat runny.

Step 3. Scrape the batter into the center of one piece of parchment on a work surface, and then cover with a second layer of paper and roll out the batter to a thickness of about 33 inches. You can remove the paper from the top sheet and cut the batter into small rectangles. Then finally, bake it till it’s golden brown.

Step 4. Set aside, a paper towel-lined plate. Heat some vegetable oil in a small skillet for 1 to 2 minutes. Lastly, go on to fry half of the chips before draining them on a paper towel using a metal strainer. 

Also Read: Is Monster Energy Vegan?

Flavors Of Fritos

Flavors Of Fritos

Vegan Frito Flavors

  • Original
  • Lightly Salted
  • Fritos Scoops

Non-Vegan Frito Flavors

  • Classic Ranch
  • Honey BBQ
  • Flammin’ Hot
  • Chili Cheese
  • Spicy Jalapeno
  • Flavor Twists Honey BBQ

1. Fritos Original Corn Chips

The Fritos Original Corn Chip Flavour is one of the most popular classic flavors – and one of the best vegan options. These 100% vegan chips are made of only three basic ingredients- whole corn, corn oil, and salt, and thus do not contain any animal-based ingredients.

2. Fritos Scoops Corn Chips

Just like the Fritos Original Corn Chip Flavour, the Fritos Scoops Corn Chips are also vegan. It contains no animal-based items and uses corn, corn oil, and salt as its key ingredients. Moreover, Fritos scoops are also gluten-free, with no artificial flavors and preservatives.

3. Fritos Flamin Hot & Fritos Chili Cheese

Both the Fritos Flamin Hot and Fritos Chili Cheese flavors are disappointingly not vegan. Besides the three base ingredients, namely whole corn, corn oil, and salt, they also contain two different types of cheese. The rennet cheese they use is extracted from goat or sheep’s stomach lining.

The cheddar cheese, on the other hand, is made of milk and is not plant-based. Moreover, whey- another milk-based product is used to improve the chip texture, making these two flavors non-vegan!

4. Fritos Honey Bar-B-Q Twists

Fritos Honey BBQ Twists are not only non-vegan but also one of the most processed Fritos chips. Besides cheese, they also contain honey and eggs – making them non-vegan and not vegetarian. Moreover, they also use artificial colors that are non-vegan and should be avoided by all those who practice sustainable eating.

5. Fritos Bar-B-Q

There is a lot of confusion surrounding the nature of Fritos Bar BBQ; however, to break it down for you, these Fritos are non-vegan. This is because the sugar they contain despite being plant-based is processed using the bone char refining process.

Moreover, the artificial colors are synthetically produced, making them non-vegan. These chips are also tested on animals to be declared fit for human consumption. These processes make the status of these chips blurry and hence leave it up to the consumer to pick- if they’re vegan or not.

Also Read: Are Pop Tarts Vegan?


So, are Fritos vegan?

Both yes and no. While certain flavors are vegan, a large majority of Fritos contain animal-based ingredients making them non-vegan. 

If you’re willing to look at other brands, there are alternative options one can opt for. While addressing the question, “what chips can vegans eat” – we discovered options such as certain pringles, Doritos, Lays, Sunchips, and scrutinized them for their ingredients.

However, for the ones who wish to stick to Fritos, the Original and Fritos Scoops variants are the only viable options. However, it’s best to find a vegan brand going forward if these chips aren’t your personal favorites.


The answer to “Are Chili Cheese Fritos Vegan?” is no, because the Fritos Chili Cheese Chips contain cheese, an obvious non-vegan ingredient. Moreover, the chilli used is also non-vegan.

Now to the question “are chili cheese Fritos gluten free” – even though according to the label – The Fritos Chili Cheese should be gluten-free, it is not listed as gluten-free on the Frito-Lay website. So, it’s fair to assume that it is made using a gluten line, opening up the possibility of cross-contamination.

No, the Fritos Spicy Jalapeno Chips are not vegan, because they contain whey and sour cream, which are milk-based ingredients. Moreover, they also contain natural flavors, which are not stated as vegan. They also contain sugar, which is usually processed with bone char, making this a flavor for vegans to avoid.

No, the Fritos Honey BBQ Twists are non-vegan, due to the honey that is drizzled on the chips during the processing. Moreover, these chips contain artificial colors that may or may not be vegan, and therefore, are best to avoid.

Just like the Fritos Honey BBQ Twists, the Honey Barbecue Fritos contains honey, which is not a vegan ingredient. They also use artificial colors which are not vegan.

Even though Fritos may seem like a healthy option since they contain only three ingredients, they are made of highly processed corn, and so most of the nutritional value is diminished. They are one of the least healthy snack chip options and provide up to 160 calories per serving.

No, Fritos are not a viable option for dogs. They can result in sluggishness, obesity, and other fatal side effects such as an upset stomach, vomiting, and diarrhea. To avoid these potential effects, it’s best to completely avoid feeding Fritos to your dog.

Yes, according to the Frito-Lay website, the Fritos chips are certified by two different Kosher certification agencies to ensure their Kosher status. Their products are on the US products Certified Kosher-Orthodox Union List and the US Products Certified kosher – Triangle k List.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *