Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan? – Cereal Scrutiny

Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan

Who doesn’t remember the all-time favorite childhood cereal Fruity Pebbles? And yes, it’s yet another magical version Cocoa Pebbles which was equally yummy-licious! Most of us have grown up munching on this lip-smacking snack – not just for breakfast but other times of the day as well (it was just too irresistible!) Thanks to growing awareness over veganism, our preferred cereal of childhood times is now being testified. Let’s take a closer look.

What are Fruity Pebbles?

Fruity Pebbles is a rice-based cereal that’s both crispy and delicious. The cereal comes in a wide variety of tasteful fruity flavors, all of which are equally hard to resist. Originally, the rice cereal flakes came in cherry, lemon and orange flavors but later new ones were added to appease growing tastes of the audience. Now Fruity Pebbles is available in grape, lime, Berry Blue, Incrediberry Purple, and Bedrock Berry Pink flavors.

Vegan Cereal Alternatives to Fruity Pebbles

We all love to have cereals in our breakfast as they are healthy, filling and super easy to make. And we shouldn’t stop having cereals just because we turned vegan. So, here are some vegan alternatives to fruity pebbles that you can try out.

1. Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats4.6/5View Products
2. Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes4.7/5View Products
3. Cheerios Cereal4.8/5View Products
4. Fruit ‘n Fibre Cereal4.4/5View Products
5. Kellogg’s All Bran Original4.2/5View Products
6. Kellogg’s Special K4.5/5View Products
7. Jordans Country Crisp4.7/5View Products
8. Cap’N Crunch Cereal3.9/5View Products
9. Reese’s Puffs Treats4.2/5View Products
10. Natural Path Cereals4.4/5View Products

Some brands in the above section also has some non-vegan products in its bouquet. So, check the reviews of these brands and then purchase the best vegan cereal for yourself. Read more of this article to understand everything about Fruity Pebbles.

Fruity Pebbles over the Years

Fruity Pebbles came into existence in the year 1970 when its name was changed from the original Pebbles (launched in 1969). Around the same time, Cocoa Pebbles was launched by the company as the first variation to Pebbles. The highly popular and most favorite of all kids’ cartoon character – Fred Flintstone – started appearing on the cereal boxes.

The year 2020 marks the golden jubilee of Flintstone stars promoting the cereal, and the characters still continue to play an important role on Fruity Pebbles’ boxes. Other than these, you can find many tasty lightly processed cereals at the beginning of your journey to veganism. With the beginners guide to veganism, it will be simpler for anyone who wishes to turn vegan.

Ingredients in Fruity Pebbles

fruity pebbles cereal ingredients

So where’s the problem? The cereal was and still is immensely popular among the kids and even adults alike. Well, it all started when veganism hit popularity and the cereal started being questioned for its vegan (or non-vegan) content.

To help you understand, we sought the ingredient list to determine whether it’s actually a vegan cereal and this is what we found. Fruity Pebbles is not 100% vegan and this can be implied from Fruity Pebbles Cereal Ingredients found on the label behind the box.

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Hydrogenated vegetable oil (including coconut and palm kernel oils)
  • Salt
  • Less than 0.5% of natural and artificial flavors
  • Red 40 (check out Red 40’s vegan status)
  • Yellow 6
  • Turmeric Oleoresin (color)
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 2
  • BHA (flavor-protector)

Although this comprehensive list may seem perfectly normal to an onlooker, there are some serious issues with it, well, at least for vegans. Here are the non-vegan-friendly ingredients in the list that vegans have a problem with:

Non-Vegan Ingredients

  • Sugar
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Natural Flavors
  • Artificial Colors
  • Vitamin D


A vital ingredient in nearly every cereal but if you’re a vegan beware of it. White refined sugar, particularly, for its processed with bone char to get the milky white color.

Palm kernel oil

While the oil itself doesn’t contain any animal by-products, the production process of the oil is deemed responsible for the devastation of orang-utans and tigers. Also, animals are regularly slaughtered to clear off land for oil production.

Natural flavors

This is a slightly grey area because natural flavor is an umbrella term that can include dairy and other animal products as well so vegans generally steer clear of this territory.

Artificial colors

Fruity Pebbles contains plenty of them – Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Yellow 5, and Blue 2. The problem with these is that they’re tested on animals which amounts to animal cruelty – another thing vegan are strictly against.

Vitamin D

You may have never imagined this but vitamin D used in cereals like lucky charms, Cinnamon toast crunch, and rice krispies is derived from lanolin or sheep’s wool which make these cereals non-vegan.

Summing Up

Taking cue from the post above, it can be concluded that Fruity Pebbles isn’t vegan. Along with the “controversial” ingredients list which features a couple of non-vegan stuff, add to it the animal-cruelty part extended to innocent creatures via color-testing and you’d get your result.

Of course, that said, most vegans are comfortable with eating cereals as long as they don’t contain animal by-products such as dairy. And because Fruity Pebbles nutrition facts label qualifies that criterion, it’s still a preferred choice among many. However, if you are strict vegan we have listed best vegan cereals brands as well as gluten-free cereals where you can choose from. 

If you wish to have heavy and healthy breakfast snacks, you can prepare vegan burritos at home or even zucchini with vegan zucchini recipe at home.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, fruity pebbles are gluten-free since they are derived from rice.

No, they do not contain dairy, but they do contain products that are sourced from animals.

Fruity pebbles are not one of the healthiest cereals available in market. Instead there are various healthy vegan snacks you can opt for.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *