Are Graham Crackers Vegan? (Vegan Brands List)

It is proven that vegans have a better lifestyle and are comparatively less prone to many health hazards like any non-vegetarian or vegetarian person. Our plant-based diet does not lack the much-needed protein as many non-vegans think.

Most of the popular food items enjoyed by people worldwide have a completely dedicated vegan food processing to ensure all the vegans can celebrate the delicious indulgence. Still, a great amount of confusion lies in the case of some famous snacks, like graham crackers, Doritos, Takis, Cherrios and many others

This is the reason, we scrutinized Takis, Doritos, Cheerios and many other brands for its vegan status. So, now we are here to scrutinize the Graham Crackers snack. The ingredient list of graham crackers does not clearly indicate whether or not they are vegan. So, Do we have to eliminate a tasty snack item from our diet? But what if graham crackers are actually vegan and we are just controlling our wild cravings because of lack of information. So, let’s dive in and find out if graham crackers are vegan or not.

Graham Crackers – Vegan or Not?

What are Graham Crackers?Graham crackers are a sweet snack item which usually has either cinnamon or honey flavors to them. As the name suggests, graham crackers are made of graham flour. It first originated in the 1800s in the US.

As Wikipedia says, Sylvester Graham, who was an influential preacher in the Temperance Movement, which took place in the 19th Century, inspired the invention of these Graham Crackers. He, along with his followers, started a Vegetarian Movement in America as they thought that vegetarian foods are the only way to live a healthy life. That is how graham flour and graham bread were made. (Source)

Are Graham Crackers Vegan?

?

Yes, vegan graham crackers are available to fulfill the cravings of all vegans. Although, most of the brands that manufactures these tasty snacks, use honey as a flavor enhancer, it is quite easy to find a vegan-friendly graham cracker as there are many vegan honey alternatives used by these brands.

Typical Ingredients in Graham Crackers

are crackers vegan

Ingredients of graham crackers vary because different companies use different types of ingredients. A non-vegan one would include honey to give a certain flavor to the crackers, whereas vegan-friendly graham crackers contain none of that. Apart from the flavors, many popular brands also use some different key ingredients in order to differentiate the taste from the graham crackers of other brands.

However, a typical ingredient list of a cinnamon-flavored graham cracker which is also vegan is given below –

  • Enriched Flour
  • Graham Flour
  • Sugar
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Corn Syrup
  • Leavening
  • Cinnamon
  • Salt
  • Dextrose
  • Soy Lecithin

Note – Sugar is a very controversial ingredient among vegans. Though sugar is totally vegan, bone char is used to make refined sugar. This bone char is made of animal bones, which are, of course, not vegan-friendly. But these particles aren’t present in the finished products. SO whether you would like to have sugar or not is completely on your disposal.

Vegan Graham Crackers Brands

graham crackers vegan brands

As the number of people switching to a plant-based diet increases, many of the brands that manufacture some of the popular snacks in America are now branching out to make the vegan versions of them. This is true for major food chains like Pizza Hut and Jack in the Box too. And so, finding perfectly vegan graham crackers has been made easy now. Some of the most loved vegan graham crackers are talked about below –

1. Keebler

Keebler Ready Pie Crust, Graham Crackers, is loved by all vegans. It is one of the best vegan graham crackers, which is perfect for calming down your sugar cravings anytime. These Graham Crackers are very convenient to use and serve best as a base for your delicious dessert recipes. It has a subtly sweet flavor, which is neither very strong nor too much light. Also, the crispy texture of these snacks goes well with the flavor.

The ingredients of Keebler Graham Crackers are –

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid),
  • Palm and Palm Kernel Oil (with TBHQ for freshness)
  • Sugar,
  • Graham flour,
  • Corn syrup,
  • Molasses,
  • Contains 2% or less of salt,
  • Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate),
  • Malt extract,
  • Soy lecithin

Keebler’s Graham Crackers do not contain any artificial flavors like E631 (check E31’s vegan status here) or colors like Red 40 (check Red 40’s vegan status with us). It also does not include any trans-fat, and all the ingredients used in the making are vegan-friendly.

Note- Palm Oil is considered to be a non-vegan ingredient among many vegans as they believe the extraction of this oil contributes to exploiting animals and causing them great pain.

2. Nabisco

Nabisco Graham Original Crackers are a completely vegan-friendly snack that also comes with the nutrients of whole grains. Usually, snacks are not that healthy, but Nabisco offers no cholesterol and a low amount of saturated fat. So, you can enjoy these flavorful sweet treats without worrying much about your health.

Nabisco Graham Original Crackers contain soy, wheat, and sulfites. The full ingredient-list of Nabisco Graham Crackers is –

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate [vitamin b1], riboflavin [vitamin b2], folic acid),
  • Graham flour,
  • Sugar,
  • Partially hydrogenated soybean oil,
  • Molasses preserved with sulfur dioxide,
  • High fructose corn syrup,
  • Leavening (baking soda, calcium phosphate),
  • Salt
  • Malted barley flour

These Graham Crackers by Nabisco are one of the top-rated vegan snacks on Amazon with many great reviews. So, you can buy a pack of these without any hesitation.

3. Nairn

Nairn’s Gluten-free Oat Graham Crackers occupy a great position in the list of all the vegan healthy snack options you can have. First of all, it is totally a gluten-free food item. Secondly, it offers the goodness of wholegrain oats, and last but not least, it provides your body with essential nutrients such as soluble and insoluble fibers and complex carbohydrates. So, you get all the nutrition packed in a delicious snack.

Nairn’s Graham Crackers contain many natural ingredients. These are –

  • Gluten-free whole grain oats (72%)
  • Sustainable palm oil
  • Brown sugar
  • Golden syrup
  • Tapioca starch
  • Raising agent (sodium bicarbonate)
  • Sea salt
  • Tree nuts
  • Peanuts

Note – In the ingredient list, it is clearly stated that this product may contain traces of milk and is not suitable if you are allergic to the protein avenin.

Nairn’s Gluten-free Oat Graham Crackers do not contain any artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives. It serves only 45 calories as per each graham and also is free from any trans-fat.

4. Kinnikinnick 

Kinnikinnick S’moreable Graham Crackers are a very tasty treat for vegans. It is also wheat-free, gluten-free, casein-free, and dairy-free.

The ingredients which are used to make Kinnikinnick S’moreable Graham Crackers are –

  • Pea starch,
  • Non-hydrogenated shortening (palm oil and/or canola oil),
  • Potato starch,
  • Brown rice flour,
  • Brown sugar,
  • Sweet rice flour,
  • Tapioca starch,
  • Water,
  • Rice bran
  • Sugar,
  • Blackstrap molasses,
  • Honey,
  • Glucose,
  • Salt,
  • Sodium bicarbonate,
  • Pea protein,
  • Vanilla extract,
  • Modified cellulose,
  • Pea fiber,
  • Guar gum,
  • Inulin,
  • Soy lecithin,
  • Monocalcium phosphate

Note – Honey is not considered as a vegan ingredient, that’s why many vegans do not find this product a vegan-friendly one. Also, it is clearly written that this particular item may contain eggs in the ingredient list.

We have included this product in the list as some vegans do have honey in their vegan diet but not dairy, so this one is perfect for them. Besides being a gluten-free and dairy-free product, the kinnikinnick S’moreable graham crackers also are free from tree nuts and peanuts. 

Non-Vegan Graham Crackers Brands

trader joe's graham crackers

Needless to say, most of the graham crackers available in the market are the non-vegan ones. That’s why checking the ingredient list of every product is so important for vegans. The brands which manufacture non-vegan graham crackers are –

Honey Maid

One of the frequently asked questions about vegan graham crackers is ‘are Honey Maid graham crackers vegan’? The answer is, no. All of the flavors of Honey Maid graham crackers contain honey, which makes them a non-vegan snack.

Market Pantry (Target)

Like Honey Maid, the graham crackers by Market Pantry also has real honey as one of the key ingredients. So, of course, they are not vegan.

Like the above-said brands, Solimo, 365 Everyday Value, Annie’s Homegrown, all these other brands include organic honey, eliminating them from being a vegan snack.

So, Are Nabisco Graham Crackers Vegan? – Yes, Nabisco Graham Crackers do not include any animal by-product, that’s why it is a vegan snack.

Can Vegans Eat Crackers? – Yes, of course. A vegan only has to go through the ingredient list to be assured that a particular product is vegan before eating it.

Conclusion

It can be seen that still, the non-vegan food items dominate the market, whereas vegans have struggled a lot to find a perfect vegan-friendly product. The media do not pay much effort to advertise many vegan foods like they do with non-vegetarian or vegetarian ones. Also, the ingredients of some of the popular items have been kept under a shield to avoid public attention. 

That’s why the article has combined all information to give all correct answers to the vegans for their queries. Because knowledge is the most vital thing to get to make any life decision, be it choosing a lifestyle or just a packet of snacks. Out of the vegan graham crackers brand, a level 5 vegan can only have a cracker that is free of even any debatable non-vegan ingredient.

Tully Zander

My life literally revolves around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan. My mission is to create a community of like minded vegans to go forth in creating a better and brighter world for humans, animals and the planet. Just like Gandhi once said: “The greatness of a nation and it’s moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.” – Gandhi

Leave a Comment