Are Reese’s Puffs Vegan? | Are Reese’s Puff Gluten-Free?
Cereals have always been the best and simplest breakfast option for everyone because all you need to do is grab your favorite box of cereal, add some milk, and there you go. Your breakfast is ready. But now that you have turned vegan, even the simplest breakfast option can no longer be available for you because of the brand of cereal you use.
To date, I have scrutinized various cereal brands for their vegan status, such as Fruit loops, Captain Crunch, Rice Krispies, Cheerios, etc. And today, I’ll be discussing one more such cereal brand “Reese’s Puff”. The breakfast cereal Reese’s Puffs is a lot of kids’ and adults favorite breakfast treat face it.
Breakfast cereal fans adore the chewy corn and oat kind. Given that there don’t appear to be any clear animal components listed on the packaging, most people believe that Reese’s Puffs are a vegan morning cereal. Your concept of veganism will largely determine whether or not this breakfast cereal is vegan. To learn if Reese’s Puffs are vegan, continue reading.
About Reese’s Puff
Reese’s Puffs, known initially as Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs, is a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup-inspired corn-based breakfast cereal made by General Mills. The cereal initially featured maize puffs flavored with chocolate and peanut butter when it was introduced in May 1994.
The recipe was later changed to include both chocolate and peanut butter puffs. Due to consumer demand, artificial flavors and food coloring were eliminated in 2015.
Are Reese’s Puffs Vegan?
Reese’s Puffs breakfast cereal from General Mills appears to be vegan at first appearance because it doesn’t include any milk, milk derivatives, or eggs. But they’re not vegan. The cereal’s contents include animal products, including sugar that has been treated with bone char.
Lanolin, the layer that exists between the skin and the wool of wool-bearing animals like sheep, is a source of vitamin D3. These two major ingredients approve that hard-core vegans should not consume Reese’s puffs.
Reese’s Puffs Ingredients
- Full Grain Corn
- Peanut butter Reese’s – It contains peanuts, sugar, monoglycerides, peanut oil, salt, molasses, corn starch.
- Corn Syrup
- Salt Canola Oil
- The color of Hershey’s cocoa caramel
- Natural Flavor of Trisodium Phosphate E vitamin (added to preserve freshness)
- D3 vitamin
- Tricalcium Phosphate
- Calcium Carbonate
- Zinc and Iron
- Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate)
- Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
- Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
- Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate)
- Vitamin A (palmitate)
- Vitamin B12
Reese’s Puff Non-vegan Ingredients
1. Vitamin D3
While vitamin D3 is not vegan, vitamin D2 is. If made from lichen, it may be vegan. When added to food and cereal, it’s typically not vegan, though. This is due to the fact that it contains lanolin, an oil derived from sheep wool. It falls within the area of animal products technically. But this is where your interpretation of vegetarianism comes into play.
The vitamin D content of Reese’s Puffs cereals is comparable to that of Kellogg’s Raisin Bran. Only 10% of the RDA of vitamin D is present in one serving of the cereal. Some vegans deem this acceptable. But I don’t think this is vegan.
The product is animal-derived, first and foremost. Furthermore, you continue to support those that mistreat and abuse animals.
In addition to vitamin D, sugar may not be a good addition to your vegan diet and lifestyle. Even if adding sugar to food is bad for your health, being a vegan gives you an extra incentive to stay away from it. The substance sugar is not an animal byproduct. The problem, though, is with how some producers refine and process their sugar.
This is due to the fact that these businesses use bone char to produce a pure white tone. Keep in mind that it’s challenging to follow a strict vegan diet, particularly in light of the fact that many manufacturers use the same equipment and resources to produce foods that are both vegan and non-vegan.
Are Reeses Puffs Gluten-Free?
Reese’s Puffs don’t include any gluten-containing components, as you can undoubtedly discern from the ingredients list. Therefore you might assume they are safe to eat. They are not, however, marked as gluten-free.
This suggests that Reese’s Puffs are produced in the same facility as their gluten-containing goods. It might be better to stay away from Reese’s Puffs if you have celiac disease or are especially sensitive to gluten.
Vegan Alternatives To Reese’s Puff
1. Barbara’s Puffins Peanut Butter Cereal
Barbara’s puffins are a great match for Reese’s puff. One of the best qualities of this cereal is how little sugar it contains. Real peanut butter is used to make this vegan cereal, which is sure to become a breakfast and snacking staple.
The traditional pairing of peanut butter and chocolate creates a Puffins cereal that is not only delicious but also a rich source of calcium and fiber with only 1g of fat
Peanut butter puffins can be mistaken for a dry snack due to the sweet, nutty, intense flavor that is baked into every piece of cereal. Their outermost layers are covered in a coating of what appears to be dried, but velvety peanut butter and are generally powdered.
2. Cascadian Farm Organic Purely O’s cereal
Organic Farm Cascadian Reese’s Puffs substitute is the cereal Purely O’s. With organic whole-grain oats, this cereal is a healthier alternative. Because it is created with organic components, including organic sugar, it is not processed using bone char.
This is significant since most foods, including those marketed as “healthy,” contain some kind of added sugar. The flavor is delicious and a family favorite despite the lack of sugar. Because they are non-GMO and flavored with real fruit tastes, these are a fantastic Captain Crunch replacement.
The organic maize and oat morning cereal Cascadian Farm Fruitful O’s is naturally sweetened, fruit-flavored, and free of artificial additives. It is also vegan-certified.
3. Bob’s Red Mill Muesli Cereal
Rolling oats, wheat, rye, triticale, barley, almonds, date crumbles, raisins, sunflower seeds, and walnuts are combined to make a delicious muesli. This excellent cereal has a lot of health advantages.
To begin with, it offers you food as nature intended it to be because it is produced with healthful components. It has a combination of whole grains and contains important carbs high in energy, B-complex vitamins, iron, and cholesterol-fighting soluble fiber.
It also contains raisins, nuts, and seeds that are rich in antioxidants, vitamin A, and immune-stimulating vitamin C
4. Bakery On Main Cranberry Almond Maple
Reese’s puffs can be easily replaced with Bakery On Main Cranberry Almond Maple. This cereal’s low sugar level is one of its best features. Millet and teff, two ancient grains, are used in this granola from Bakery on Main Street.
It tastes like real maple syrup and is a fantastic ALA source (an omega-3). Try it over yogurt, ice cream, or straight from the bag. Gluten-free, kosher, non-GMO, and vegan.
5. Lark Ellen Farm Granola Bites
A nutritious, crunchy, and delectable breakfast or snack made of fresh sprouted nuts and seeds, maple syrup, cinnamon, and vanilla. The ideal healthy, low-carb, vegan, and Paleo food is free of gluten, oats, soy, dairy, and grains
This organic granola will keep you satisfied and feeling good because it is packed with nutrient-dense superfoods. Fresh food is an Ideal breakfast and snack for weight loss, contains no additives or fillers, and is non-GMO. It is a breakfast and snack item that is ideal for on-the-go in a handy resealable bag. It is made in the USA.
Vegan Reese’s Puffs are made by General Mills. They are no longer considered vegan foods because of vitamin fortification. With 9 grams of sugar, 1 gram of fiber, and 2 grams of protein, this cereal is still not the ideal option in terms of health.
Any strict vegans should not consume Reese’s Puffs. They are not suited for vegans for a number of reasons, as listed in this article. The fact that it contains sucrose, which is made from bone char, and Vitamin D3, which is not vegan, is a major factor.
Despite the fact that they are produced from corn, these puffs can be regarded as gluten-free. There are numerous vegan cereal alternatives in the market that you can enjoy with various plant-based milk, such as almond milk, soy milk, oat milk, etc., without harming animals.