Are Wheat Thins Vegan? (Non-Vegan Flavors List)

are wheat thins vegan

As people become more health-conscious while being vegan, they start taking a keen look at everything they’re putting into their mouth. This holds true for most ready-to-eats too; you’d most likely look behind the pack to know all the ingredients – whether they’re healthy or not.

However, determining the vegan status of snacks can be challenging, as many popular snacks contain animal-derived ingredients that are not immediately noticeable. Till date I have explored vegan status of various popular snacks like Pringles, Doritos, Takis, Lays, Sun Chips, etc.

And today continuing the list, today I will be reviewing the vegan status of popular healthy crackers of our times, Wheat Thins. In this article, we’ll take a close look at the ingredients in Wheat Thins, and explore the different factors that contribute to their vegan status. Whether you’re a long-time vegan or just starting to learn about plant-based diets, this article will provide you with all the information you need.

What Are Wheat Thins?

Wheat Thins is a popular brand of crackers, commonly sold in the US but quite popular in other parts of the world too, promoted as one of the healthiest crackers.

What Are Wheat Thins Made Of?

This wholesome snack is believed to be made of whole wheat and is low on fat and high in fiber content. Though, it is difficult to ascertain “do Wheat Thins have gluten?” Several Wheat Thins flavors are believed to be made completely from whole grain. For instance, its original version Outlier is also not entirely 100% whole grain variety. Yet, it contains high amounts of fiber, including 11g of whole grain per serving.

For Wheat Thins, let’s first look at the ingredients in Wheat Thins to know whether it’s suitable for vegan consumption. Here’s what the Original Wheat Thins contain, according to the ingredients printed behind the box:

  • Whole Grain Wheat Flour
  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sugar
  • Cornstarch
  • Malt Syrup (made from Barley and Corn)
  • Salt
  • Invert Sugar
  • Monoglycerides
  • Leavening (Calcium Phosphate and/or Baking Soda)
  • Vegetable Color (Annatto Extract, Turmeric Oleoresin)

Now the important question: Are Wheat Thins dairy free? Agreed, Wheat Thins are definitely one of the healthiest crackers out there when it comes to snacks – whole grain or no whole grain. But, as we mentioned earlier, all healthy food options may or may not necessarily be vegan. This is where vegans need to exercise a little extra caution when buying anything from the store.

Which Flavors of Wheat Thins Are Vegan?

wheat thins flavors

Vegans primarily look at two things while determining the vegan status of a product – (a) the inclusion of animal-derived ingredients in the product itself, and (b) any harm or cruelty caused to animals during the preparation process. If a product fails to abide by any or both of the above, it’s simple. It isn’t vegan. So, check the list below, to know which flavors of Wheat Thins are vegan and which are not.

  • Original Wheat Thins
  • Spicy Buffalo
  • Sweet Onion
  • Sundried Tomato and Basil – contains natural flavor which may comprise of ingredients like – fruit, eggs or dairy.
  • Ranch – contains buttermilk and whey, both dairy products.
  • Smoky BBQ – contains honey derived from bees (the honey-extraction process from bees involves harm to the creatures)
  • Chili Cheese – contains sour cream powder made from cream and non-fat milk, natural flavor, cheddar cheese made from cultured milk, and buttermilk.
  • Honey Mustard – contains honey and natural flavor (comprising milk)

Are Wheat Thins Cruelty Free?

Another important aspect vegans consider before deeming safe any product is whether its preparation involves any cruelty to animals. Wheat Thins is manufactured by Nabisco, which is owned by Kraft Heinz. The latter is a huge international brand that manufactures a variety of foods.

It’d be worth a mention here that most of these foods contain meat, eggs and dairy. Besides, they may also contain ingredients tested on animals.

Summing Up

Are Wheat Thins good for you? The Original version continues to be vegan; few others may not be safe for vegans. Also, if you’re a vegan that deems animal testing unethical, you may want to rethink eating the snack. Ultimately, the choice of whether to include Wheat Thins in a vegan diet is a personal one that depends on the individual’s beliefs and values. By staying informed and knowing what’s in your food, you can make informed choices about what you eat and maintain a healthy, vegan lifestyle.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *