Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands

Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands

When someone goes vegan, often when they’re transitioning into a vegan lifestyle, or happen to be a beginner, they often overlook little details such as food coloring, which may or may not be vegan. Most people who have recently begun following a vegan diet may be unaware of this.

Animal products such as squid, octopus, cuttlefish ink, Murex snails (carmine, cochineal, or lac), fish and pig fat, etc. can be used in the food coloring (black pasta often has this) and flavor enhancers (E631 is a good example)

On the other hand, a vegan food coloring is one solution to your troubles. Yes! Plant based food coloring is available, and there are various vegan food coloring products to choose from. A number of them are listed later in the text, and you can choose the one that best suits your needs.

What is Food Coloring? 

Have you ever considered drinking green Pepsi, clear ketchup, or pink water? These items may exist. Yes, you read that correctly; these products can and would exist if all of the food fanatics agreed to them.

There’s a reason for this: people want food that tastes like the food they’re eating. Because the relationship between food and color is so strong, many people use food coloring to make their food look even better and more enticing.

Is Food Coloring Vegan?

Food coloring is, in fact, vegan. The most common question that many customers have is whether or not food coloring is vegan. The majority of naturally made food coloring is vegan and derived from plants.

However, not all food coloring is guaranteed to be vegan; some are derived from other goods such as bugs and other animals. As a result, some vegan food coloring brands to look for while shopping for food coloring are given later in the article.

Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands

1st Place
Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands ColorKitchen Plant-Based Food Coloring By ColorKitchen
Check Price
Best Value
Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands Color Garden Natural Food Coloring By COLOR GARDEN
Check Price
3 Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands ChefMaster Liquid-Gel Food Coloring By ChefMaster
Check Price
4 Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands Watkins Assorted Food Coloring By Watkins
Check Price
5 Best Vegan Food Coloring Brands AmeriColor Food Coloring By AmeriColor
Check Price

1. ColorKitchen Plant-Based Food Coloring 

Color kitchen food coloring is convenient and simple to use. Pink is a hard hue to come by, and the pack has it. On the other hand, consistency is a little tricky to work with and combine. The product is non-GMO, gluten-free, and artificial ingredient-free.

Dissolve it in water first and then add it to the food to make it easier to use. The product is composed of recyclable boxes and is therefore environmentally beneficial.


  1. Powdered natural food colors are more concentrated and last longer than liquid natural food colors.
  2. Natural components were used to create this product.
  3. Non-GMO, gluten-free, soy-free, and vegan options are available.
  4. It’s simple to use.


  1. It’s a little difficult to mix.

2. Color Garden Natural Food Coloring 

Color Garden natural food coloring is a plant-based food coloring that comes from fruits and vegetables. These vegan food colorings have no flavor or odor and do not change the texture or taste of your dish.

This product is not suitable for baking, and if baked, the color may darken. The product’s quantity is sufficient to last for a long period.


  1. This product has no artificial components because it is made entirely of natural materials.
  2. The food coloring is gluten-free and non-GMO.
  3. Allergen-free, vegan, and free of artificial ingredients.


  1. Because they oxidize quickly, it’s possible that the color of the product will alter.

3. ChefMaster Liquid-Gel Plant Based Food Coloring

Chefmaster natural food coloring comes in a wide range of colors that other manufacturers don’t. Chefmaster food coloring is available in eight different colors. It’s simple to use and produces brilliant colors.

They can also be used in baking so you may use them in cakes, frostings, and other baked goods.

Not only does the product have a light consistency, but it is also odorless and tasteless, so your meal won’t stink or have any texture changes. This vegan food coloring is made from plants and contains no artificial additives.


  1. Colors that are highly concentrated blend quickly and consistently without changing the texture of your product.
  2. Gel food coloring in 12.7 fluid ounce bottles. 


  1. The color may appear faded at times.

4. Watkins Assorted Food Coloring

Watkins’ various food coloring is a plant-based food coloring made from fresh vegetables and spices like beet juice, turmeric, and spirulina extract. Watkins natural food coloring has no artificial dyes or hues.

However, because it is made from natural ingredients, this food coloring does not provide a very vivid color.

Watkins food coloring is available in four different shades: red, yellow, blue, and green. At its pricing, this four-pack artificial color set is the finest choice.


  1. It’s in liquid form, so it’s a lot easier to use.
  2. Natural materials were used to create this product.
  3. A food coloring made from plants.


  1. It doesn’t give you a vivid color.

5. AmeriColor Food Coloring 

Americolor is another brand that provides a wide range of color and composition options. These are highly concentrated and generally blend well, making them simple to use. It is a vegan product that has not been subjected to animal testing.

However, most of these products are made up of chemicals, which isn’t what most people prefer because they believe chemicals are harmful. This isn’t the case; the americolor products have been thoroughly tested and are therefore safe to use.


  1. Easily accessible.
  2. It’s budget-friendly.
  3. They last a long time.
  4. They will give you a lot more bright colors.


  1. Chemicals make up the majority of the composition.

6. Sugarflair Concentrated Food Colors  

If you’re looking for a powdered food color, Sugarflair concentrated food colors are a fantastic option. Because most sugar flair products are not vegan, you should be cautious when purchasing any of their items.

In a bottle, 0.705 ounces is sufficient for long-term use. If you don’t use it properly, you could get lumps because it’s powdered. As a result, it is recommended that you use a product that is simple to use and worth the money.


  1. There is no odor or flavor to it.
  2. Food coloring that is concentrated and produces exceptionally brilliant hues.


  1. Lumps may form.

7. Wilton Icing Food Colors  

Like the Americolor food coloring, the Wilton icing food colors are vegan and aren’t tested on animals. These, too, are made up of chemicals and contain non-artificial ingredients. On the other hand, the chemicals bring the color to life, making it even more brilliant.

When compared to other brands, the product is relatively affordable and lasts a long time. You can easily achieve your desired result with only a few drops of the hue. This product is also readily available in stores and on the internet.


  1. 12 1/2 ounce icing colors in a set.
  2. They’re also reasonably priced.
  3. It lasts for a longer period.


  1. Chemicals make up the substance.


If you’re on a vegan diet and need a food coloring item, it’s vital to pay attention to the components, among other things. Before purchasing a product, make sure you examine all of the contents. So, among the goods mentioned above, look for a gluten-free, non-GMO, and simple to use food color.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yellow 5 is a vegan food color that is manufactured from petroleum-based basic ingredients. It doesn’t contain any animal products.

Yes, the blue one is vegan because it contains artificial colors. It is composed entirely of petroleum-derived raw materials and does not contain any animal products.

The yellow 6 is vegan and made without using any animal products.

Carmine is a product that is not vegan. Carmine is a dye that has been combined with a binder. It is used in some popular snacks, drinks and candies like monster energy, pop-tarts and mentos, etc. The cochineal bugs, commonly known as cochineal extract, are crushed to make carmine.

If you’re looking for a vegan food coloring, stay away from Carmine and any other product that contains cochineal extract or crimson lake, both of which are bug-based food coloring ingredients.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *