Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands (Gelatin Free Gummies)

Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands

Gummy bears are bright and colorful candies loved by kids as well as adults. They look adorable as well as taste delicious and therefore, your search for the best vegan gummy bears brands is obvious. After all, being a vegan doesn’t restrict your sugar crave when you can have these soft jelly gummy bear shaped sweets.

For this reason, we have evaluated several gummy brands like Sour Patch Kids, Red Vines, Lifesavers, Jolly Ranchers, Welch’s Fruit Snacks, and many more for their vegan status. Due to the growing awareness of vegan foods and condiments, many vegan brands have come up with their range of vegan gummy bears.

Also, since their inception, some of the gummy bear brands have been using ingredients that are absolutely vegan-friendly. Whether you want these candies as a treat to yourself or your kids, there are plenty of options today. The brands claiming their products vegan-friendly need to be verified and therefore, in this review, we will analyze the ingredients to check whether these products are actually vegan or not.

Gummy Bears – Vegan or Not?

fruit snacks without gelatin

What are Gummy Bears? – Gummy bears are roughly 2 cm long bear-shaped candies. They come in a variety of colors including yellow, green, red, orange and brown. They come in different fruit flavors that mostly taste sweet.

Many gummy bear brands add colors, flavors, beeswax and gelatin to make the candy appear chewy, soft and flavorful. Gummy bears can give you a great sugar rush anytime. So, finding out whether gummy bears are vegan or not can be a tricky task.

Are Gummy Bears Vegan?

Yes, some Gummy bear variants are vegan. There are many variations of this candy that range from non-vegan to vegan and it all depends upon the ingredients they use. While most of the brands produce non-vegan gummy bears, there are vegan gelatin-free gummy bears available like the ones mentioned-below.

Why Most Gummy Bears Aren’t Vegan?

Unfortunately, many brands produce gummy bears that contain gelatin, a non-vegan ingredient. Gelatin is sourced from the skin, bones, and connective tissues of animals such as domesticated cattle. Apart from that, some of these candies also contain beeswax, sourced from the bee’s hives, you can check beeswax vegan status with us.

Also, there are artificial flavors and colors added that might not be vegan. Some artificial colors are vegan like Red 40, you can understand the details with us. The production process of some colors and flavors cause harm to animals. It is hard to tell which colors and flavors are vegan since the gummy bear brands do not mention it in the label. For all these reasons, most of the gummy bears are not vegan.

Top Vegan Gummy Bears Brands

1st Place
Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands (Gelatin Free Gummies) SnapSupplements ACV Gummies By SnapSupplements
Check Price
Best Value
Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands (Gelatin Free Gummies) Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks By Annie’s Organic
Check Price
3 Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands (Gelatin Free Gummies) Surf Sweets Organic Fruity Bears By Surf Sweets
Check Price
4 Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands (Gelatin Free Gummies) Trader Joe’s Scandinavian Gummy Candy By Trader Joe
Check Price
5 Best Vegan Gummy Bears Brands (Gelatin Free Gummies) SmartSweets Sour Blast Buddies By SmartSweets
Check Price

Today, it is not too difficult to find a vegan gummy candy or fruit snacks without gelatin. As we already know, there are some brands that avoid animal-derived ingredients to process delectable gummy bears. So, let’s quickly analyze these products and find out which one is the best.

1. SnapSupplements Apple Cider Vinegar Gummies

Gummy bears are more often than not a mixture of sugar, glucose syrup, starch, food coloring and a thickening agent. Such composition obviously lacks nutritional value. Well, if you’re going to chew on a vegan jelly candy anyway, why not have it lend you some health benefits? Snapsupplements makes gummies that check all these boxes we’re looking for.

Vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO gummies with interesting nutrient profiles! The gummies essentially promise similar benefits as that of regular apple cider vinegar. Among others, the benefits include facilitating healthy digestion, regulation of blood sugar and weight management.

Being composed of Apple Cider Vinegar, Pomegranate Juice, Beetroot Juice, snapsupplement gummies effectively lower cortisol, the stress hormone and promote better mood. With the taste being reported just like regular gummy bear candies, it sure is a win to have much anticipated health benefits.


  1. Vegan, Non-GMO, Gluten free
  2. Balanced blend of nutrients
  3. No artificial flavors or sweeteners


  1. Might seem overly sweet for some

2. Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks

The organic fruit snacks from Annie’s come in adorable bunny shape. When it comes to the taste, these candies will remind you of the seasonal fresh fruits. This one is a variety pack that includes berry, strawberry, tropical and citrus-flavored candies in different colors.

Made of fresh fruit juice, the candies are good sources of vitamin-C. Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks is a gluten-free and vegan product as claimed by the brand. The candies are colored by using natural plant dye. This pack of 2 comes in small carton packaging and each carton contains four pouches of flavored candies. The price of the candies is affordable considering the quantity.


  1. Contains four flavors
  2. Gluten-free and vegan
  3. Organic natural plant dye
  4. Juicy taste from natural flavors


  1. Not bear shaped
  2. Individual packaging means more waste

3. Surf Sweets Organic Fruity Bears

With an all-organic and simple ingredients list, this pack of Surf Sweets Organic Fruity Bears makes a perfect retreat of the fond memory you had of gummy bears as a kid. The fresh fruit flavor lingers in the mouth and boosts you with the goodness of vitamin-C.

These gummy bear candies, as well as vegan sour gummy worms, are allergen-free. These are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, eggs, soy, wheat, fish, shellfish, sesame and sulfites. The color of the candies comes from organic vegetables and plants and the flavor comes from real fruit essence. Each pack of gummies contains 12 candies in assorted flavors including cherry, lemon, strawberry, grape, orange, and grapefruit.


  1. No artificial colors and natural flavors
  2. Allergen-free candies
  3. More than six flavors
  4. A percentage of sales go to eco-friendly projects


  1. The sour ones come sanded with sugar
  2. Expensive as per the quantity

4. Trader Joe’s Scandinavian Gummy Candy

If you are fascinated with the ocean world, this pack will surprise you with some amazing sea creature shaped vegan gummy candies. It contains organic gummies in the multicolored ocean-inspired shapes. Being vegan doesn’t mean you can’t eat lobsters, dolphins, seahorses and fish gummies. These candies are made with naturally derived fruity flavors and colors making them organic.

The texture is quite chewy, and the taste is simply delicious. These candies are vegan, gluten-free, vegetarian and kosher, as claimed by the brand. When it comes to the price, it is cheaper than some other brands. The ones who have Trader Joe’s near them can get these candies at an even cheaper price than online.


  1. Ocean inspired shapes
  2. Vegan, gluten-free and vegetarian
  3. Chewy and tasty
  4. Organic and kosher


  1. Not bear shaped
  2. A little harder than other gummy sweets

5. SmartSweets Sour Blast Buddies

This incredible pack of sour blast candies ensures better health with its low-calorie formula. Made with 85% less sugar than other fruity chewy candies, this one provides you with just 3g of sugar and 80 calories per bag. The candies are naturally sweetened with stevia and are free from sugar alcohols.

These candies can make you feel good anytime with the delicious sour fruit flavor. The taste actually makes a perfect balance of tangy and sweet. The texture is soft and chewy. All the ingredients used in this pack of candies are plant-based vegan and non-GMO. There is no artificial flavor or color added. The flavors are berry, blue raspberry, lime, lemon, and orange.


  1. Low calorie and sugar content
  2. Naturally sweetened with stevia
  3. Plant-based vegan and non-GMO
  4. Multiple flavors and color


  1. The manufacturing company makes other products with gelatin
  2. Those who are fond of sweet candies might not like the taste

6. YumEarth Gummy Bears

The bouncy gummy bears from YumEarth are loaded with flavor made from real fruit juice. These candies come in an assorted bag of pomegranate pucker, mango tango, perfectly peach and strawberry smash flavors. Also, these are available in a bag of just pomegranate pucker flavor. Whichever you want, you will be treated with fresh fruity-smelling candies that taste delicious.

The candies contain organic cane sugar and therefore, are healthy. There is no corn syrup, artificial color and flavor added to this product. Though unsure whether a vegan product, these candies are gluten-free, non-GMO and nut-free. The packaging is very colorful and compact, making the product easy to carry and store.


  1. Multiple flavors and colors
  2. No corn syrup, artificial color and flavor added
  3. Gluten-free, non-GMO and nut-free
  4. Contains organic cane sugar


  1. Might contain animal-derived gelatin
  2. Not evaluated by the FDA

7. Sour Honey Gummy Bears

Sour Honey Gummy Bears is a product of France. These are the world’s first honey based gummy bears which makes them very unique. The candies are very soft in texture and are easy to chew. The beautiful pink and purple color makes them look vibrant.

These candies are free from gelatin, artificial colors, corny syrup, and artificial flavors. On unpacking the product, you will find 3 fruity varieties that include cherry, strawberry, and blue raspberry. When it comes to the packaging and price, both are moderate.


  1. Honey based gummy bears
  2. Non gelatin gummy bears
  3. No artificial colors and flavors added
  4. Three fruity flavors
  5. Soft and easy to chew


  1. They are less sour in taste
  2. A little hard to chew

8. Black Forest Gummy Bears Candy

This pack of organic gummy bears by The Black forest can be the ultimate companion for the vegan candy lovers. The brand introduces this candy in 6 different flavors like cheery, lemon, apple, pineapple, orange, and strawberry.

These candies are made from real fruit juices and natural flavors. In fact the colors are also derived from various plant based sources so you can indulge these bears as much as you want.

Not only that the brand mentions that these gummies are gluten and fat free which is like cherry on the cake. These gummies come in resealable bag so can easily carry them where you want.


  1. Gluten-free and Fat free
  2. Made with real fruit juices and natural flavors
  3. Comes in 6 flavors


  1. Some people found it hard to chew

Vegan Gummy Bears – Buying Guide

non gelatin gummy bears

If you are looking to buy vegan gummy bears, here are some useful tips for you. Knowing these aspects will help you to determine whether the products are truly vegan or not. You can check for these following ingredients in the label of the products to ensure they are vegan friendly.

1. Beeswax

Many brands use beeswax in their gummy bears as a coating to stop the candy from sticking to each other. Since beeswax is produced from bee’s hives, it is no way vegan. More precisely, the production process goes through melting down honeycomb with boiling water and then straining it, which is absolutely cruel towards bees. Hence, you need to avoid this ingredient while looking for vegan gummy bears. Fortunately, there are some brands that use alternatives to this ingredient, which are safe and organic.

2. Gelatin

It works as a binding agent in foods, jellies and candies to make them bouncy and gummy in texture. Naturally, it is the main reason most of the gummy bears are so soft and chewy. Gelatin is an animal-derived ingredient, usually sourced from the hooves, skin, ground bones, and connective tissue of cows, pigs, chicken and fish. Fortunately, the organic gummy bear brands use alternatives like agar agar, carrageenan, and pectin that still give that gelatinous texture.

3. Food dye

Again, a very common ingredient in all sorts of candies, food colors can be non-vegan. You will come across brands that avoid gelatin and yet do not mention the product as vegan and it is due to the red food color number 4. You will be surprised to know that this red dye is produced from thousands of crushed up beetles. However, there is an alternative to this dye and it is the vegan red food color number 40.

vegan gummy candies

Are Vegan Gummy Bears Healthy?  – Since the vegan gummy bears are made from organic or all-natural ingredients, these are better than the regular gummy bears loaded with sugar and gelatin. But when it comes to the health quotient, we cannot assume these are healthy. You need to check their sugar content and then you can enjoy them in moderation.


If you have been missing gummy bears since you have moved to a vegan diet, good news for you! Most of the ones listed above are safe for vegans as per our analysis. Colorful shapes, delicious taste and organic ingredients make all of them so tempting even when you are on a healthy vegan diet.

Each product has some upside and downside, which you can consider while choosing the best one. For example, if you are allergic to peanuts, you can opt for the nut-free product listed above. When choosing a vegan gummy bear brand, it’s important to consider the expiration date and storage instructions, as these candies do have a shelf life. Most vegan gummy bears have a shelf life of around 12 months, but it’s always best to check the packaging to ensure you are consuming them within the recommended timeframe.

We hope this review will be helpful for you to find the best vegan gummy bears brands. You can find our evaluation on various other candies like Swedish Fish, Airheads, Dum Dums, Skittles and many more for its vegan status.

Frequently Asked Questions

Short answer – no, haribo gummy bears are not vegan. Despite containing some vegan-friendly ingredients, haribo gummy bears also contain gelatin which is an animal derived ingredient. This makes haribo gummy bears non-vegan.

No, since most of the black forest gummy bears contain gelatin, beeswax and artificial flavors, these are not considered vegan.

For the very same reason as others, trolli gummy worms are sadly not vegan too. Trolli gummy worms contain gelatin which is derived from cows and pigs in an unethical manner.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *