Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan

Cinnamon Toast Crunch may be the finest cereal ever developed. It’s a delightful cereal with a strong cinnamon aroma that’s not too overwhelming and hits your taste buds just right.

Even today, it has a sizable consumer base, ranking as the fifth best-selling cereal in the United States.Cinnamon Toast Crunch is usually believed to be vegan.

However, it contains sugar and vitamin D3, both of which are questionable for vegans. The same can be said for the majority of their different flavors. These contain either non-vegan or debatable ingredients, so vegans should avoid them.

But is Cinnamon Toast Crunch vegan? We’ll find out if Cinnamon Toast Crunch is vegan or if you should get your cinnamon cereal fixed somewhere else in this article.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch – Brand Overview

The history of how breakfast cereal became popular is a product of science and marketing. General Mills and Nestle collaborated to create the Cinnamon Toast Crunch breakfast cereal. The grain made its debut in 1984.

The cereal was developed by Elisabeth Trach, the then-product manager at General Mills. The first version was a plain plane square with no cinnamon texture.

The cinnamon swirls pattern was added later to the cubes. The cereal is well-known for its flavor, which is similar to cinnamon sugar bread, and for its distinctive square appearance.

Vitamin B12, which is also included in the ingredient list, is not commonly found in plant foods, but it is found in animal-based foods such as fish, meat, poultry, eggs, milk, and other milk products. As a result, the most ardent vegans may prefer to avoid Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

Does Cinnamon Toast Crunch Have Dairy?

Cinnamon Toast Crunch does not have any ingredients derived from dairy. According to popular belief though, Cinnamon Toast Crunch used to contain milk as an ingredient.

In the present day, the company denies the presence of any milk product in the cereal. It does, however, contain vitamin D3, which is derived from animals for all major commercial fortifications.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Ingredients

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Ingredients

Some of the important Cinnamon Toast Crunch ingredients that makes it so delicious are

Maltodextrin is a food additive (check vegan status) that is used as one of the main ingredients in Cinnamon Toast Crunch to improve the texture, flavor, and shelf life.

It is created by partially hydrolyzing vegetable starch. Maltodextrin is digestible as glucose and can be mildly sweet or flavorless. It is a carbohydrate that is very easy to digest and can provide energy quickly.

The following is fructose. Fructose, also known as fruit sugar, is a simple ketogenic type of sugar found in a variety of plants, fruit juices, some vegetables, and honey. Fructose has four calories per gram, just like other sugars. It is also known as “fruit sugar” because it is found naturally in a variety of fruits.

Riboflavin, or vitamin B2, is also listed as an ingredient in Cinnamon Toast Crunch. It is a vitamin that can be found in food and is used as a nutritional supplement. Eggs, green vegetables, milk and other dairy products, meat, mushrooms, and almonds are all sources.

Another important ingredient in Cinnamon Toast Crunch is soy lecithin. Soy lecithin (check vegan status) is a food additive derived from raw soybeans. When added to food, it is commonly used as an emulsifier or lubricant.

Caramel food coloring is vegan and derived from sugar or other natural sources. It is not derived from animal sources, unlike many other food coloring agents. Caramel food color, on the other hand, is also tested on animals. Many animals are also known to perish during the process.

Vitamin B12, which is also listed as an ingredient, is highly contentious. It is not commonly found in plant foods, but it is found in animal products such as fish, meat, poultry, eggs, milk, and other milk products. It leaves a lot of room for thought. Cereals are one of the fortified foods that are high in vitamin B12.

Vitamin D3 is included in the ingredients of Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Lanolin, a greasy substance derived from sheep’s wool, is the source of vitamin D3. Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains Vitamin D3 as a fortification ingredient, that’s where our correlation to vegan-friendly products becomes tangled.

The flesh of fatty fish and fish liver oil are the best sources of Vitamin D3; egg yolks, cheese, and beef liver contain smaller amounts. Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains refined sugar. More than half of the sugar factories in the United States filter their sugar with bone char.

This filtration process converts brown sugar into a more acceptable white authentic form. In turn, bone char is the result of animal cruelty. It is created when cattle skulls are burned at extremely high temperatures in combustion chambers. Vegans object to this step in the production of white cane sugar.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch  Flavors

1. Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is a whole grain breakfast cereal with cinnamon flavoring. The cereal attempts to simulate the flavor of cinnamon toast in the way of a crunch cereal.

The cereal is made up of small squares or rectangles of rice and wheat that have been coated in cinnamon and sugar. It’s golden in color with dark-colored edges and a pullman loaf shape.

Only the Cinnamon Toast Crunch has an actual crunch, unlike the other toast-shaped cereals that claim to be crunchy. It’s a little salty, mostly sweet, and absolutely delectable. However, it contains sugar and vitamin D3 which is usually derived from animals and is not suitable for a vegan diet.

2. CinnaGraham Toast Crunch

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?

CinnaGraham Toast Crunch is Cinnamon Toast Crunch’s newest delicious Cinnadusted breakfast cereal. It combines the sweet taste of graham crackers with the iconic cinnamon flavor of Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

It’s crunchy and irresistibly delicious, and it’s ideal for mealtime, snack time, or anytime. But this flavor is not suitable for Vegans since it contains honey.

 3. Apple Pie Toast Crunch

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?

The most recent flavors are infused with real fruit. The Apple Cinnamon Toast Crunch is a new flavor.

Along with the other two, Blueberry Toast Crunch and Strawberry Toast Crunch, are re-launches of General Mills’ “Tiny Toasts” line from last year, albeit with a more familiar name. However, in terms of texture and size, the new fruit cereals differ from the original.

In contrast to the larger, thin squares of the original Cinnamon Toast Crunch, the new fruit-cereal toast pieces are smaller and thicker. However, this flavor contains Vitamin B12, which is derived from animals and hence it is not vegan.

Sugar Cookie Toast Crunch

Since 2015, General Mills’ Sugar Cookie Toast Crunch has been in and out of the cereal aisle. The Sugar Cookie Toast Crunch Mini Treats, like other breakfast cereals, combine cereal with milk-inspired flavor, allowing you to enjoy the pieces even without a bowl and spoon.

So now you can predict the Christmas-themed cereal, which is made of whole wheat and rice pieces coated in cinnamon-sugar sweetness with sugar cookie flavor, to have milk-like flavor and drizzle.

It tastes similar to Cinnamon Toast Crunch but without the cinnamon. However, just like any other Cinnamon Toast Crunch flavors, Sugar Cookie Toast Crunch also contains Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3 and processed sugar which are not vegan ingredients.

5. French Toast Crunch

French Toast Crunch

French Toast Crunch is shaped like many small slices of French toast, similar to Cookie Crisp. It first appeared on grocery store shelves in late 1996 and was phased out in 2006. Today, the cereal has returned to its original form from the 1990s.

French Toast Crunch pieces are generally thinner and crisper. Furthermore, it tastes identical to cinnamon and maple syrup (check vegan status).

Though this flavor is one of the best from the line, it’s not vegan. That’s a big downside of this flavor.

6. Chocolate Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Chocolate Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Chocolate Toast Crunch isn’t just another chocolate cereal, despite its name. It’s made of naturally flavored chocolate-sweetened wheat squares with a cinnamon tinge. Chocolate Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains 2 grams of fiber and is made with whole-grain wheat.

It is one of the more scrumptious cereals on the market, with a bold and sweet chocolate flavor that completes with much the same sugar-laden finish.

However, this flavor contains ingredients derived from animals. So it’s not suitable for a vegan diet.

7. Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros

The line’s latest flavor, Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros, is bite-size churros dusted with real cinnamon to offer a sweet cinnamon flavor adequately.

The chocolate-sweetened wheat and rice cereal, with a tinge of cinnamon, tastes like a churro dipped in melted chocolate. They seem to be about the same shape as the traditional churros cereal.

But this flavor is known to have non-vegan ingredients. It’s not ethically suitable for the vegans.

Are Cinnamon Toast Crunch Healthy?

Are Cinnamon Toast Crunch Healthy

Many of us have wondered if cinnamon toast crunch is bad for you. It’s probably not surprising that Cinnamon Toast Crunch isn’t particularly healthy. The sugar content of Cinnamon Toast Crunch, like that of many other cereals, is a source of concern.

It also has about 12 grams of sugar per cup, something you should be aware of before consuming. With an extremely high sugar content and other potentially toxic ingredients, this high-calorie cereal should be avoided and replaced with something else.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch, like other cereal boxes, makes big claims about its health benefits. The words “Guaranteed Whole Grain” are emblazoned across the top of the box, but it is unknown how much whole grains are genuinely used in the manufacturing process.

1. Barbara’s Puffins Cinnamon Cereal

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not as good as Barbara’s Puffins Cinnamon Cereal. With 6g of sugar per serving, you can get the authentic cinnamon flavor you crave. Puffins Cinnamon Cereal is a healthier cereal with crispy texture, flavor, and goodness.

It’s a good source of fiber and has been Non-GMO Project verified. Barbara’s Puffins Cinnamon Cereal is made with whole grains and real cinnamon, providing a wholesome flavor in every bite.

2. Kashi Breakfast Cinnamon Harvest Cereal

Kashi Cinnamon Harvest Whole Wheat Biscuits contain real cinnamon, which gives our crunchy wheat biscuits a pleasant, light spice. Kashi Breakfast Cereals are made with delectable plant-based ingredients and are nutritious.

The crunchy bite-sized cereals are made with woven whole grain wheat and sweetened with organic cane sugar and a hint of cinnamon.

Cinnamon Harvest combines organic whole-wheat cereals with spicy organic cinnamon for a scrumptious and nutritionally balanced breakfast that you would perhaps want to eat even after a meal.

3. Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch Cereal

Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch Cereal is made up of delicious organic whole grain squares that have been lightly sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar.

This certified organic cinnamon cereal contains 15 grams of whole grain and 3 grams of fiber per serving and is free of GMOs and synthetic pesticides.

This wholesome cinnamon cereal is delectable with milk, but you can also grab a couple of handfuls for an on-the-go snack. Cascadian Farm values natural, organic ingredients that have been perfected by Nature.

4. Annie’s Gluten-Free, Cinnabunnies Cinnamon Cereal

Annie’s Cinnabunnies Cereal forges its own cinna-spiced road. The breakfast cereal is organic and made with wholesome ingredients like whole grains and chickpea flour. It contains no artificial colors or high fructose corn syrup.

It’s also gluten-free, which adds to its appeal. Cinnabunnies are shaped like bunnies and have a delicious cinnamon flavor. The notable crunch is not too dense or airy, and the edible bunnies’ complexly ridged biology has a memorable mouthfeel.

5. Three Wishes Gluten-Free Cinnamon Breakfast Cereal

Begin your day right with Three Wishes Cereal, which is gluten and grain-free. Three Wishes’ delicious cereals are a great source of protein, have only 3g of sugar, and are made with nutrient-rich, plant-based ingredients.

A great option for breakfast or a snack. The ingredients are simple: chickpeas, pea protein, tapioca, organic cane sugar, cinnamon, natural flavors, salt, and monk fruit.

It is Non-GMO, Vegan, Kosher, and Gluten-Free Certified. It’s one of the best Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereals that everyone in the family will enjoy.


Whether vegan or not, people have already started to take the ingredients used to make these cereals cautiously. Since more people become health-conscious, businesses will be forced to shift their manufacturing approaches toward natural-based products. You never know, General Mills may soon release a completely vegan-friendly label for this product.

Until then, you can switch to other vegan cereals brands as a source of breakfast. We have also reviewed some of the cereals brands like fruit loopsChex Mix, Captain Crunch, Cheerios, Rice Krispies and many more for their vegan status.


Cinnamon Toast Crunch, on the other hand, is a vegetarian snack. The only ingredients that are questionable from a vegan standpoint are sugar and vitamin D3. Lacto-ovo and other non-vegan vegetarians should be unconcerned about either of these.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch, on the other hand, is not suitable for those who follow a near vegan diet in which foods containing butter, animal fats, or the like are avoided.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is unhealthy. Sugar, as well as other toxic ingredients, can be harmful to your health. A small portion of the cereal has 200 calories and 10 grams of sugar.

Moreover, since this breakfast cereal is so processed, no one knows if any of those vitamins remain in the cereal after all is said and done. If you want a different breakfast cereal, choose one that is low in sugar, high in fiber, and certified organic to avoid GMOs.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains gluten. Cinnamon Toast Crunch contains whole grain wheat as one of its primary ingredients and is therefore not gluten-free. Breakfast cereals containing wheat or barley malt are not gluten-free and should be avoided if you are gluten-sensitive.

Gluten, a sticky stretchy substance that can trigger an auto-immune response in people who are sensitive to protein, is present in Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

Yes, because the cereal is made without the use of gelatin or pork products. Halal food generally refers to all vegetables, fungi, water, seafood, and animal meat that has been slaughtered in a humane manner.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is kosher-certified. The 2 pack’s sleeve features a simple OU symbol. Each individual box correctly bears the OU-D Dairy label. At the moment, the product does not contain actual dairy, but it is manufactured on dairy equipment.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *