Is Cream of Tartar Vegan and Gluten Free?

Is Cream of Tartar Vegan and Gluten Free

Cream of tartar is among the most dynamic baking ingredients, making cookies chewy, egg whites billowy, and your home sparkle.

However, when it comes to the cream of tartar, vegans, especially those who are new to the lifestyle, maybe perplexed. After all, the word “cream” is in the name, and cream is typically derived from animals.

So, in this article, we’ll talk about what cream of tartar is and whether it’s vegan or not. You may also find the vegan and gluten-free cream of tartar brands and what it can be used for.

What is Cream of Tartar? What is Cream of Tartar made of? 

What is Cream of Tartar

Cream of Tartar has a pH of 5 and is scientifically known as potassium bitartrate or potassium hydrogen tartrate. It’s a powdered form of “tartaric acid,” which is an acidic substance like lemon or vinegar. Cream of tartar is basically just a byproduct of tartaric acid, which occurs naturally in many fruits such as grapes and citrus fruit.

Cream of tartar can be made by crystallization of Potassium bitartrate in two different ways: during fermentation grape juice (to make wine) or when fresh grape juice is chilled for a prolonged period of time.

Is Cream of Tartar Gluten Free? 

Yes! Cream of Tartar is gluten-free as well. Gluten is derived from wheat, rye, and barley, but it can still be found in foods that are made with these grains.

Cream of tartar is gluten-free because it is a byproduct of the winemaking process, and no grains (especially gluten-containing grains) are used during the winemaking process. The cream of tartar itself is gluten-free; however, the food it’s in may not be.

What is Cream of Tartar used for?

Cream of tartar can be used in a variety of vegan-friendly ways. Here are a few aspects for using the cream of tartar in vegan baking and cooking:

1. Color Preservation

When you boil vegetables, they lose their vibrant color and thus become less appetizing. The acids in the cream of tartar help to retain the original color of vegetables.

2. Anticaking and thickening

Cream of tartar can be used to thicken mixtures and prevent them from caking by maintaining a free-flowing consistency and inhibiting moisture absorption. Cream of tartar also acts as a thickening agent, increasing the viscosity of liquids, soups, and stews without changing the flavors or other properties.

3. Preventing Crystallization

Cream of tartar inhibits the crystallization of sugar syrups. This is achieved by breaking down some of the sucrose into fructose and glucose.

Cream of Tartar Substitute – Vegan and Non-Vegan

Cream of Tartar Substitute

If you are still not satisfied and cautious of all the issues related to the cream of tartar, there are always alternatives that you can try. Here are some of the best alternatives you can try.

Vegan Substitute for Cream of Tartar

1. Vinegar (White)

Vinegar is a highly acidic liquid with numerous applications. It also has similar acidic levels as cream of tartar, and it aids in the stabilization of all egg whites when baking.

Also Read: Is Balsamic Vinegar Vegan?

2. Juice of lemon

Lemon juice works well in place of cream of tartar. Since lemon juice has similar acidity levels to the cream of tartar, you can produce the same outcomes using organic lemon juice.

3. Baking Powder

Tartaric acid and sodium bicarbonate are the two main ingredients in baking powder. As a result, it’s an excellent substitute for a cream of tartar.

Non-Vegan Substitute for Cream of Tartar

1. Yogurt

Because of its acidic nature, yogurt is an excellent substitute for cream of tartar. The acidity is comparable to the cream of tartar. However, it is common knowledge that yogurt is made from milk, which is the primary source. As a result, it becomes a non-vegan ingredient, and you should not use it in place of the cream of tartar.

Also Read: Is Greek Yogurt Vegan? Is Greek Yogurt Dairy Free?

2. Buttermilk

Buttermilk is a great substitute for cream of tartar. However, it is not suitable for vegans. The cream of pure milk is used to make butter. And because milk is derived from animals, it is not an ideal substitute for cream of tartar. As a result, this is one aspect to consider when looking for others.

Cream of Tartar Vegan and Gluten Free Brands

1. Toogood Botanics Cream of Tartar

Botanics Toogood Cream of tartar is a byproduct of the winemaking process. It’s found in the sediment remaining behind in barrels after the wine has fermented, and it’s refined into milky white powder we use in baking. It’s a dense white powder with a slightly acidic flavor and odor.

Cream of tartar is a versatile product that can be used in the kitchen and around the house. It’s generally used in baking while whipping egg whites – it accelerates the development of foam while maintaining the fluffy texture ideal for meringues and other similar desserts.

2. Unpretentious Baker Cream of Tartar

Unpretentious Baker Cream of Tartar Contains a Baking Staple that Adds Volume and Thickness to Meringues and Soufflés. It can also be used for a variety of cleaning tasks around the house. It is % Pure Potassium Hydrogen Tartrate, all-natural, and Kosher and Vegan certified.

It gives candies, frostings, icings, and syrups a creamier texture. It also helps to stabilize egg whites while beating them, which improves texture and volume. It is frequently used in recipes as an alternative to buttermilk and to prevent sugar crystal formation in homemade candy.

3.  Judee’s Vegan and Gluten Free Cream of Tartar

Judee’s Cream of Tartar is packed in a dedicated gluten-free facility and shipped in a standup, resealable pouch to ensure freshness. It enhances the acidic and citric flavors and the fluffy texture of baked goods.

Make a paste to brighten dulled aluminum or use it in crafts like play-dough. Judee’s Vegan and Gluten Free Cream of Tartar is a multi-purpose item that can be used in the kitchen and around the house.

4. Pure Organic Vegan Cream of Tartar

Pure Cream of Tartar is a baking necessity that can be used for everything, including baking to egg white stabilization to creating your own baking powder or bath bombs.

It is packaged in an eco-friendly standup, resealable pouch, free of additives, fragrances, and animal products. Pure Organic Vegan Cream of Tartar is an all-natural, non-GMO Potassium Bitartrate that is also vegan-certified.

5. Anthony’s Premium Cream of Tartar

Anthony’s Premium Cream of Tartar is a versatile acidic by-product of wine production. It is certified vegan and contains no additives, fragrances, animal products, or MSG. When steaming vegetables, lower the pH of the water by mixing in a small amount of Anthony’s Premium Cream of Tartar.

This keeps the color of the vegetables you’re steaming. It is an excellent tool for a wide range of household cleaning tasks. Cream of Tartar can be used to remove rust stains, remove that bothersome gunk on your metal pots and pans, and keep your drains flowing efficiently.


Conclusion

According to the criteria accepted by the majority of vegans, cream of tartar is vegan. It is completely derived from fruit, making it a plant-based, vegan substance that can be used in a variety of applications.

However, the use of animal products in the manufacturing process may subject it to public scrutiny. Not to worry, many brands make vegan and gluten-free cream of tartar. The vegan cream of tartar listed above is a good example.

If you are a vegan, it is always good to do some preliminary research before purchasing any ingredients.

FAQs

Tartaric acid that is found in certain fruits is the only ingredient of cream of tartar. It contains no milk or milk by-products and, therefore, should be suitable for those following a vegan diet or suffering from lactose intolerance.

Cream of Tartar is free of gluten. It is gluten-free because it is an outcome of the winemaking process, and no grains (especially gluten-containing grains) are used for the winemaking process. Cream of tartar is gluten-free friendly. The cream of tartar, on the other hand, is gluten-free; however, the food in which it is used may not be.

McCormick Cream of Tartar does not contain any gluten ingredients. However it is not certified gluten free.

A cream of tartar is a powder with a pH of 5. The powdered form of citric acid has a pH of 3. Citric acid is a stronger acid than cream of tartar because it has a lower pH value.

In Cooking, most home cooks are aware that cream of tartar is one of the ingredients in baking powder. It is a naturally occurring, slightly acid ingredient that reacts with mildly alkaline baking soda to produce carbon dioxide gas bubbles, which allow baked goods to rise.

Lemon Juice: To replace the cream of tartar in a recipe, use an equal amount of lemon juice. Because the flavor is pleasant, it can be used in a variety of recipes.

White Vinegar can also be used in equal amounts of distilled white vinegar instead of cream of tartar in recipes that require an egg white stabilizer. Replace both baking soda and cream of tartar in recipes that call for both.

Buttermilk’s acidity may work in some baked goods recipes and is an excellent substitute for cream of tartar.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.