What is Disodium Inosinate? Is it Safe to Consume?

disodium inosinate in food

Flavor enhancers in food can affect our health due to harmful chemical compounds in them. We are becoming conscious about these flavor enhancers to such an extent that the food manufacturers have also started avoiding these elements.

Disodium Inosinate is one of the most used food enhancers that you’ll find in a great variety of grocery products. Usually, it’s combined with other flavor enhancers like monosodium glutamate (MSG). Considering the health factor associated with the consumption of these flavors, we will try to analyze whether these are safe at all. Before we precede to disodium inosinatedangers, let us know what it is.

What is Disodium Inosinate?

Disodium Inosinate (E631) is the disodium salt of inosinic acid, which works as a food enhancer. The taste Disodium Inosinate in food generates is kind of meaty and savory, which is also known as umami taste. Usually, foods containing this flavor are irresistibly tasty and addictive. If you have ever wondered why it is hard to resist a pack of potato chips, Disodium Inosinate might be the reason.

IMP, Disodium 5′-inosinate, Disodium inosine-5′-monophosphate and 5′-inosinic acid, disodium salt are some other names of this food flavor. It is one of the majorly used food flavors in fast foods, processed foods and other savory and sweet items. Know whether Disodium Inosinate is considered vegan or not with us.

How is Disodium Inosinate Made and its Properties

The CAS number of this compound is 4691-65-0 and the molecular weight is 392.17(anhydrous). Disodium Inosinate can be made by two methods. It can be produced from bacterial fermentation of sugar or carbon source. Also, it can be produced by the degradation of nucleotides into nucleic acid from yeast extract (Learn yeast’s vegan status with this article).

The chemical formula of Disodium Inosinate is C10H11N4Na2O8P. It is an expensive product and mostly combined with other enhancers like monosodium glutamate (MSG) and disodium guanylate (GMP). When it is combined with GMP, it is named as disodium 5′-ribonucleotides or E635. If MSG is not listed in the label of a product while Disodium Inosinate is listed, it is possible that glutamic acid is combined or it naturally occurs from the food ingredients like tomatoes, parmesan cheese, or yeast extract.

Disodium Inosinate appears as a white granular or powder. It is odorless and soluble in water. If you take 13g of Disodium Inosinate and mix it with 100ml of water at 20 degrees F, you will see it dissolving. It is also soluble in organic solvents like ethanol and insoluble in ether. However, the stability of this compound is very high as it remains absolutely stable at 100 °C. Until the temperature is around 230 °C, Disodium Inosinate will not decompose.

Is Disodium Inosinate Safe?

e631 flavor enhancer in pizza

Yes, since Disodium Inosinate has been listed as an authorised food additive in the Commission Regulation (EU) No 231/2012. It comes under the category of “additives other than colors and sweeteners”. Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have also declared this product as safe.

In the UK, Australia and New Zealand food standards, it is declared safe. In UK food standard agencies, it is categorized as others while in Australia and New Zealand; it is listed as safe with the code number 631.WHO Expert Committee on Food Additiveshas also declared it as safe. However, they have not specified the daily intake.

Before you consider it as safe for you, it is essential to know whether you are allergic to its taste. There are chances of side effects on people with specific health issues, allergies or intolerance.

Disodium Inosinate Side Effects

It is a very common concern among us and here is the answer. Usually, there are no chances of side effects as declared by the food standard associations. To check the toxicity of this flavor, it has been tested on animals like rats, rabbits, chickens, dogs, monkeys and also humans.

No sign of significant toxicity has been found in the results. No sign of carcinogenicity and genotoxicity has been found. It also doesn’t have any adverse effects on reproduction and therefore, is safe for pregnant women. However, consulting your doctor is recommended before you come to a conclusion.

What foods contain Disodium Inosinate?

what foods contain disodium inosinate

As a flavor enhancer, Disodium Inosinate is found in a variety of food like instant noodles, pizza, cheese, tomato sauces (check if ketch up is vegan or not), soups, fast food, baking food like Bisquick, snack food, potato chips like Pringles, crackers, meat, seafood, poultry, canned food, ice cream, soft candy, pudding, condiment and seasonings. You can check whether Graham crackers are vegan or not in the vegan FAQs section.

Is Disodium Inosinate Gluten Free? – Yes, it is considered gluten free. It does not contain wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of any of these grains and complies with FDA’s definition.


Now that you know about the secret ingredient e631 flavour enhancer in pizza and other food items is the reason for your cravings, you are more conscious about its consumption. You can easily check the packaged food labels as well to see whether Disodium Inosinate is used. For infants and children, it is better to avoid this ingredient.

Baby food brands and other brands that produce foods for children usually do not put Disodium Inosinate for safety purpose.

As a gluten free food flavor, Disodium Inosinate is safe for those with gluten intolerance. For those tolerant to Disodium Inosinate, it is safe until you have an inadequate proportion. Gorging on large portions of fast food, instant noodles and pizzas have many other side effects that you need to be conscious about as well.

Similar Posts


  1. Thank you for this highly insightful article, amd may God bless you for your compassion and shine a light on you, so that you become a torch of inspiration for billions around the world.

  2. Why does the food industry insist on giving us so many preservatives in food that is not necessary and is not good for our health? It seems every packaged food product is full of junk and is unhealthy. Cannot we, with all of our knowledge preserve foods without the harmful effects of what we put in them that is not good for us? The food industry does not have our health in mind, only profits.

    1. Hi just for information: the preservatives found in food are there to allow the food a longer shelf life and to inhibit the growth of pathogens like bacteria and fungi (mold) that can cause severe illness and possibly death if eaten. Every year thousands of people worldwide are sickened and hundreds die from what is called “food poisoning” but its not the food that kills them its the pathogens that contaminate the food. Preservatives kill these pathogens before they can kill you. Every year billions of peoples lives are protected and saved by the use of preservatives. People can have adverse (allergic) reactions to anything that is consumed, including water( there are people who are allergic to water its true). But the people who experience allergic reactions to the most commonly used preservatives is extremely low compared to the amount of people who have no reaction at all. The use of preservatives is not wholly about profits; although having a product that is safe to eat and will last a while on the shelf in your local store or in your house is a good thing for everyone and probably results in repeat sales. Always check for products like fresh juices to be pasteurized it could save your life.

      1. Just stop! With your propaganda BS. Disodium inosinate is not a preservative, it is a flavor enhancer and it’s used in conjunction with disodium guanylate. Both are substitutes for MSG, which is absolutely terrible for people to consume, unless you think obesity is good? These chemicals are, again, not preservatives, and they are not good to consume. So just stop with your red herring argument about pathogens, there are no pathogens in dead food, dummy! By the way, no one is going to live very long if they have an allergic reaction whenever they drink water.

  3. MSG is safe and is the basis for savory (umami); one of the five basic tastes that our tongues perceives. It is in everything from steak to tomatoes…. The reason for people thinking it is harmful is its association with Chinese food and racism against Chinese people. I suggest you look it up. The Truth About MSG and Your Health by SciShow is also a good information source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *