Is Jif Peanut Butter Vegan and Gluten-Free?
Switching to a vegan lifestyle can never limit your taste buds when you know which foods are safe. There are plenty of options starting from the fresh ones to the processed ones. Your favorite peanut butter is no exception as you can find some of the top brands presenting a variety of organic peanut butter.
Whether the products are vegan or not totally depend upon the ingredients the brands uses. In the label of the products, all the ingredients are clearly mentioned that helps us to know the truth. Here, we will analyze each and every ingredient to know whether the Jif Peanut butter is actually vegan.
About Jiff Peanut Butter
Jif is a name known to us for a long time. Smooth, creamy, and well-balanced in both saltiness and sweetness, but is Jif peanut butter vegan?The brand has 15 different kinds of peanut butter that are prepared from fresh roasted peanut as the main ingredient. Each variety differs not only in taste and flavor but in ingredients.
Is Jif Peanut Butter Vegan?
Yes, Jif Peanut Butter is vegan considering its classic natural peanut butter and the creamy peanut butter flavors since they don’t contain animal-derived ingredients. Other flavored varieties are non-vegan as they contain animal-derived ingredients like honey and omega-3. Yet, it is quite complicated then it seems.
Since both the non-vegan flavored peanut butter and the classic peanut butter are processed in the same factory, there are high chances of cross-contamination. So, you can use the vegan peanut butter in recipes like Bisquick Pancake with Peanut butter.
Jif Peanut Butter Ingredients (Via Jif.com)
There are several ingredients present in Jif Peanut Butters, but, the following are some questionable ingredients that we found while we were checking its vegan status. Some vegans consider these ingredients as vegan while some do not. So, it is on your individual disposal as to whether you want to move ahead with having Jif Peanut Butter or not.
- Palm Oil
- Food Color
Sugar is considered to be processed with bone char sourced from animal bones. While sugar can be made ethically too but the sugar used in industrial processes more often than not involves animal cruelty at some point.
Palm Oil and Palm Fat
The cultivation of palm oil is not favored by a number of members of the vegan community as it has devastating impacts on animals and nature. Yet, palm oil doesn’t contain or processed with any animal-derived ingredient.
The flavors in any peanut butter are usually sourced from plants. If it is sourced from animal it will be mentioned in the label. Since there is no such mention in Jif peanut butter, we can assume its vegan.
Some food colors are tested on animals and Jif doesn’t highlight how its colors are tested.
Is Jif Peanut Butter Gluten free?
Yes Jif Peanut Butter is completely gluten free.
Is Peanut Butter Vegan?
Yes, Most of the non-flavored peanut butter is vegan as you don’t find animal-derived ingredients in them. Yet, they include ingredients that are controversial for strict vegans, as we have explained how sugar, palm oil, flavorings, and food colors are usually processed.
There are several brands that use peanut butter as an ingredient in their product. One such brand is Nutter Butter Cookies. You can learn Nutter Butter’s vegan status on our vegan FAQs section.
The strict vegans can opt for products like 305 Organic, Peanut Butter & Co., Spread the Love as these are organically processed. On the other hand, any kind of flavored peanut butter like honey, chocolate, or omega-3 is absolutely not vegan. You can use cocoa butter along with peanut butter to have most smoother liquid. But, is cocoa butter vegan, learn that with us.
Is Jif Natural Peanut Butter Vegan?
Yes, Jif natural peanut butter is vegan, when it comes to the ingredients. In several videos, we see brands asked whether the monoglycerides in the natural peanut butter is sourced from the animal. Jif confirms that the source is soy. Hence, there is no need to worry.
Is Skippy Peanut Butter Vegan?
Yes, Skippy Peanut Butter is vegan as it contains no animal-derived ingredients. Yet, the strict vegans who also consider the production process of the ingredients may find some ingredients unsafe like sugar. Skippy doesn’t mention whether they use organically processed sugar.
Is Jif Creamy Peanut Butter Vegan?
Yes, the Jif Creamy Peanut Butter is Vegan. The creamy texture of this peanut butter develops mysterious but, this creamy texture comes from the processing technique without including any animal-derived ingredient.
Is Jif Peanut Butter Dairy Free? – Yes, Jif peanut butter contains no dairy and is lactose-free. So, if you are lactose intolerant, then too you can go for this peanut butter.
Does Jif Use Xylitol? – Yes, the Jiff Peanut Butter Brand does use Xylitol in several varieties of peanut butter as their products labels confirms.
Jiff’s peanut butter can also be used as spreads for making the dish tastier. Like peanut butter, you can also use Hummus as a spread. They have a unique savory taste. But, are Hummus vegan? You can find that out in our vegan FAQs section.
We can definitely say that the Jif natural peanut butter is labeled with no animal-derived ingredient and is safe for vegans. The flavored ones like honey and omega-3 peanut butter are labeled with animal-derived ingredients and are not vegan. Also, Jif natural peanut butter is considered dairy-free, gluten-free, and vegetarian. So, you can prepare this vegan no bake cookies with peanut butter.
Yet, there is a high controversy among the experts on this topic and it is up to you to decide whether you consider it vegan or not owing to factors like cross-contamination of micro-ingredients. If you prefer strict non-vegan products that are labeled as organic, you can always choose the peanut butter from other brands mentioned in this article.