Is Mountain Dew Vegan | Is Mountain Dew Gluten Free?
Energy drinks are a hot commodity, and for a good reason. They give you the energy to get through your day with a smile on your face, and they taste great too. But if you are beginner to vegan lifestyle you need to be careful regarding your food choices. You need to look for the ingredients before consuming any food product.
And today, we are going to discuss one of the most favorite energy drink. Mountain Dew is a soft drink that packs a punch. It’s loaded with caffeine, which gives you energy—But be careful; it can keep you up all night long.
The name “Mountain Dew” comes from the fact that it was initially marketed as an energy drink, especially for mountain climbers. In recent years, Mountain Dew has become more popular among young people and urban dwellers who enjoy its unique taste, which is both sweet and sour at the same time.
Mountain Dew – Brand Overview
Mountain Dew is a unique soda that has been around since 1940. The drink was created by Tennessee beverage bottlers Barney and Ally Hartman. Bill Bridgforth created a revised formula in 1958
Mountain Dew is a soda that has a unique taste. It is one of the few sodas with a citrus flavor and is more expensive than other sodas.
Mountain Dew has more caffeine than its competitors– which gives it a kick that other soft drinks can’t match. Mountain Dew comes in flavors like Code red, Ice lemon-lime, Voltage, white-out, and Pitch-Black. All of these flavors have different tastes depending on their mix.
Is Mountain Dew Vegan?
Mountain Dew is vegan-friendly!
It does not contain any animal products or byproducts in its ingredients list. However, there are some questionable ingredients like sugar, glycerol, and natural flavors but these ingredients don’t hamper the vegan status that much. But if you are concerned then you can avoid having it.
Mountain Dew Ingredients
Mountain Dew is a carbonated soft drink that PepsiCo makes. The ingredients listed on Mountain Dew’s labels include:
- Brominated vegetable oil
- Carbonated water
- Citric acid
- Concentrated orange juice
- EDTA (ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid) – to protect the flavor
- Erythorbic acid – to maintain its freshness
- Gum arabic
- High fructose corn syrup
- Natural flavors
- Sodium benzoate – to preserve its freshness
- Sodium citrate
- Yellow 5 (artificial color)
Questionable Ingredients In Mountain Dew
Mountain Dew includes sugar that has perhaps been treated with animal bone char. This indicates that bone char is used to purify sugar before it reaches our hands in some, if not all, circumstances.
Bone char is an animal product since it is made by burning animal bones at high temperatures. This suggests that the final result of this component may include bone char, rendering it unfit for vegan consumption.
Mountain Dew contains the ingredient glycerol, which is a byproduct of animal fat. Glycerol can be made with animal fats, but Mountain Dew does not specify which animal fats are used in its production.
The primary concern with this ingredient is that it’s derived from animals fed toxic chemicals and antibiotics, which may lead to health problems for consumers. Additionally, glycerol has been linked to several cancers in animal studies.
3. Food Coloring
According to the ingredient list of Mountain Dew, the company uses Red 40 in its product. However, Red 40 is not a natural dye. It is a synthetically made dye. This means that it was tested on animals in development. This makes it completely unethical and very questionable to use this colorant in any product.
4. Natural Flavors
While Mountain Dew is a beloved staple in the American diet, the natural flavor in the ingredients list might surprise you. We don’t know whether “natural flavor” comes from animal or plant sources. It can vary based on each product.
Are The Artificial Colors In Mountain Dew Vegan-Friendly?
Many people ask this question because they want to know if Mountain Dew is vegan. It’s probably the most popular soft drink in the world, so it’s no surprise that people wonder about its ingredients.
The answer is yes, but there’s a catch! You might not want to know what it is based on how Mountain Dew is produced. The truth is that animals such as rats and mice are also used for testing—and that’s not all.
Mountain Dew uses synthetic dyes to create a vibrant yellow color in its soda that makes it taste good. If you are looking for a product entirely free of artificial colors, you will have to look elsewhere.
Is Mountain Dew Gluten Free?
The answer is yes, mountain dew is gluten free. It does not contain any ingredient which are source of gluten like wheat or barely and it also does not come in contact with gluten ingredients during production.
List Of Vegan Mountain Dew Flavors
Mountain Dew is pretty much the most iconic American soft drink. It’s been around for decades and has a cult following among fans of all ages.
Here are some of the vegan flavors of Mountain Dew:
- Code Red
- Diet Code Red
- Diet Mountain Dew
- Ice Lemon Lime
- Liberty Blue
- Merry Mash-up
- Live Wire
- Mountain Dew Amp
- Mountain Dew Amp Game Fuel
- Pitch Black
- Mountain Dew Kickstarter
- Mountain Dew Original
- White Out
- Mountain Dew Voltage
Is Mountain Dew Bad For You?
Mountain Dew is a popular soft drink in the world. It’s sold all over America, as well as in other countries around the globe. But is it bad for you? If you’re a regular Mountain Dew drinker, it may be time to reconsider your habit.
The first thing to consider is whether or not the beverage has high acidity levels (PH factor 3.2). What does that mean? Everything below PH 7 is considered acidic, which can dissolve the enamel on your teeth over time.
Mountain Dew also has BPA, a substance that causes serious health problems, including infertility, hormonal imbalance, and obesity. As you might expect from something containing sugar, Mountain Dew also raises blood sugar levels—which can lead to heart disease if they remain high enough.
Mountain Dew is a well-known and beloved soda that’s been around for decades. It’s the perfect drink for anyone who needs a little pick-me-up in their day, and it has been a staple of American culture forever.
Usually, sodas are vegan so mountain dew is not the only option for vegans. They can even have drinks like monster energy, red bull, Dr pepper, gatorade as all these drinks are absolutely vegan friendly.
However, these drinks may contain many ingredients that aren’t healthy choices for people who want to maintain a balanced diet and an active lifestyle.
So, in short, energy drink contain some things that are not good for your health but if you have a sweet tooth and enjoy your soda every once in a while, it’s not going to hurt you!