Is Oyster Sauce Vegan? Vegan Oyster Sauce Recipe

Is Oyster Sauce Vegan

Sauces are tricky because they may appear to be non-vegan, some of them may be made with plant-based ingredients.

Oyster sauce is one of the most popular sauces that is umami-rich and is one of the primary ingredients in Asian cuisine. But just as the name says, oyster sauce is made from the oyster extract and is generally not considered vegan. But nowadays, there are many vegan options for everything, including oyster sauce.

So in this article, we will see what oyster sauce is made of and whether the oyster sauce is vegan or not.

What is Oyster Sauce?

What is Oyster Sauce

Oyster sauce is a rich, syrup-like sauce popular in Chinese cooking. It is produced from oyster extract, but contrary to its name, it does not taste like oysters at all. On the other hand, Oyster sauce has an earthy, sweetish, and salty flavor.

It’s made with boiled down (caramelized) oyster juices, salt, and sugar; some variants also include soy sauce thickened with cornstarch. Oyster sauce is a dark brown, almost black sauce with a thick consistency.

What is Oyster Sauce made of?

In comparison to the traditional and apparently cost-prohibitive process of caramelizing oyster broth, most mass-produced manufacturers use the oyster extract in combination with a large amount of sugar and cornstarch. In any case, this is how the sauce is traditionally made. Nowadays, a variety of alternate routes are used to achieve the desired rich taste at a lower cost.

Other ingredients, such as MSG and soy sauce, can be added to enhance the flavor and darken the color.

The vegetarian and vegan variants are typically made with the same ingredients, but there will be soybeans, brown sugar, and mushroom flavor rather than oysters.

What does Oyster Sauce taste like?

Oyster sauce tastes similar to a cross between soy sauce and barbecue sauce. It’s salty and sweet at the same time; the salt comes from the brininess of the oysters, and the sweet is dynamic, with tidbits of caramel.

It has a savory, tangy flavor and is less salty than that of soy sauce. On the mouth, it will also have an earthy flavor. The presence of an earthy flavor would indicate the quality of any oyster sauce.

It’s widely used in Asian cuisines, such as Chinese and Thai dishes, for stir-fries, meat condiments, and dipping sauces.

Vegan Oyster Sauce Brands

1. Wan Ja Shan Vegan Mushroom Oyster Sauce

This vegetarian oyster sauce gets its deep umami flavor from mushrooms rather than seafood. It’s made with a delectable combination of soybeans, wheat, salt, sugar, and mushrooms. This vegetarian sauce can be used in stir-fry dishes or as a dip.

It improves the flavor and aroma of meat, tofu, and vegetables. This multipurpose product can also be used to make marinades and sauces. It goes well with noodle and rice dishes. Wan Ja Shan Vegan Mushroom Oyster Sauce also contains harmful ingredients such as MSG.

2. Kikkoman Vegan & Gluten-Free Oyster Sauce

Kikkoman Gluten-free vegan Oyster Sauce tastes just like our traditional oyster sauce. It has a savory flavor with a hint of sweetness. This authentic sauce is ideal for anyone attempting to replicate their favorite vegan Asian dishes.

Kikkoman Gluten-Free Vegan Oyster Sauce is ideal for making Asian-inspired dishes at homes, such as rice bowls, wraps, glazed vegetables, salads, and more. Kikkoman Gluten-free Vegetarian Oyster Sauce is made to the highest quality standards that Kikkoman customers have come to expect.

3. Lucky Foods Organic Oyster Flavored Sauce

The deep umami flavor of Lucky Foods Organic Oyster Flavored Sauce comes from mushrooms rather than oysters. It’s made with a delicious blend of tamari Soy Sauce, cane sugar, coconut sugar, sea salt, and cornstarch.

This authentic sauce is perfect for anyone trying to recreate their favorite vegan Asian dishes. The Lucky Foods Organic Oyster Flavored Sauce contains no hydrogenated fats or high fructose corn syrup. It goes well with all stir-fries, braises, and marinades, and it truly adds an enchanting dimension to a variety of dishes.

Vegan Oyster Sauce Recipe

You’ll want to smother everything in this Vegetarian Oyster Sauce! This shiitake mushroom-made homemade oyster sauce is gluten-free, vegan friendly, and has no additives. It takes only 6 ingredients and 15 minutes to make. It has a deeply savory and umami flavor that is absolutely delicious!

Ingredients required

  • Soy sauce – Adds umami and saltiness.
  • Coconut sugar – We use coconut sugar instead of white sugar to keep this sauce refined sugar-free. It also adds a subtle caramel flavor and aids in the darkening of the sauce.
  • Mushroom powder – It is simply dried mushrooms that have been ground up. You can easily make your own by blending dried shiitake mushrooms.
  • Cornstarch – It is used to thicken the sauce.
  • Miso paste – Another ingredient that I believe adds a lot of umami and saltiness. Red miso paste works best in this recipe, but any miso paste will suffice.
  • Salt Mushroom Water – To dilute the sauce and balance the sweetness/saltiness.
Is Oyster Sauce Vegan

How to make Vegan Oyster Sauce

Avatar photoTully Zander
Oyster sauce is one of the most popular sauces that is umami-rich and is one of the primary ingredients in Asian cuisine. Make your own vegan oyster sauce! It's salty, sweet, packed with umami and so easy to make!
No ratings yet
Prep Time 12 mins
Cook Time 3 mins
Total Time 15 mins
Course Dips & Sauces
Cuisine Asian
Servings 1.5 Cups
Calories 25 kcal

Ingredients
  

  • ¾ cup coconut sugar
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • 2 tsp mushroom powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 cup water

Instructions
 

  • Begin by soaking the mushrooms overnight and then using the mushroom water as the liquid base.
  • Strain the soaking water through a fine-mesh sieve to remove any remaining dirt. Using scissors, cut the rehydrated softened mushrooms (optional, you can skip this step if you have a high-speed blender). Blend the mushrooms and soak water until smooth.
  • Heat the sugar and water in a saucepan over medium heat. The pan should not be mixed or swirled. Allow the mixture to bubble until it turns amber in color. 
  • Do not take your gaze away from it as soon as it begins to change color, as it can over-thicken or burn in a fraction of seconds. Remove from the heat and add the hot water. Because of the vigorous bubbling, the water may splash. Stir the caramel–it should be slightly watery and silky at this point.
  • Stir in the caramel sauce after adding the blended mushroom mixture to the saucepan. Return the heat to low to medium-low. 
  • Whisk in the soy sauce, dark soy sauce, miso paste, salt, and any additional seasonings of choice. Then, while whisking continuously, drizzle in the cornstarch slurry until it has thickened to the desired consistency. As the mixture cools, it will thicken even more. Adjust the saltiness to your preference.

Notes

To make mushroom powder, blend 1 cup of dried mushrooms in a high-speed blender, until it looks like a very fine powder.

Nutrition

Calories: 25kcalCarbohydrates: 6.3gProtein: 0.4gFiber: 0.1gSugar: 5.5g
Keyword how to make vegan oyster sauce, plant based oyster sauce, vegan oyster sauce recipe
Tried this recipe?Let us know how it was!

Also Read:

Conclusion

Although the traditional oyster sauce is not a vegan-friendly condiment, a vegetarian version is now perfect for your plant-based diet. So don’t ignore this flavorful sauce just because it has the word “oyster” in it!

You can always make your own oyster sauce if you’re a vegan. You can try the above vegan Oyster Sauce and enjoy this delectable condiment full of umami.

FAQs

Oyster sauce is primarily composed of oyster juices or extracts, salt, and sugar. In any case, this is the traditional method of making the sauce. A variety of alternative options are now used to attain the optimum rich taste at a lower cost. Vegan variants, for example, are typically made with many of the same ingredients, but instead of oysters, there will be soybeans, brown sugar, and mushroom flavor.

In terms of texture and flavor, soy sauce with mushroom flavoring is the closest thing to oyster sauce. Another popular Chinese sauce that is almost always vegan is hoisin sauce. It is made up of soya beans, vinegar, and a variety of spices.

Kecap Manis can also be used as an oyster sauce substitute. Kecap Manis is a traditional Indonesian sauce made with soy sauce and coconut palm sugar.

Nowadays, the majority of store-bought versions contain sugar, salt, and cornstarch. For flavor, they contain a trace of oyster sauce or oyster essence. But, contrary to its name, it does not smell like fish at all. On the other hand, Oyster sauce has an earthy, slightly sweet aroma and is full of umami.

Oyster sauce contains no cholesterol, no significant amounts of vitamins and minerals, no protein or fiber, and is high in sodium. The majority of commercially available oyster sauces contain monosodium glutamate (MSG). However, MSG is a type of sodium, and consuming too much salt can lead to high blood pressure, which also increases the risk of stroke, heart disease, and kidney disease.

Oyster sauce is a salty and sweet condiment generally made from oyster juices, salt, and sugar. The salt comes from the fruity sweetness of the oysters, while the sweet is dynamic, with hints of caramel. It has a lower salt content than soy sauce and a higher umami content.

MSG, or monosodium glutamate, is considered vegan. It is a protein salt, usually derived from seaweed or corn. MSG is derived from a fermented plant as well. It contains no animal products and is made without the use of animals. Moreover, MSG is a good vegan source of umami or the fifth taste.

The traditional oyster sauce, which is made entirely from oysters, contains no gluten because oysters are gluten-free. However, many commercial oyster sauce brands contain wheat-based soy sauce or use wheat flour as a thickener, making it unsuitable for a gluten-free diet.

Shellfish include prawns, crabs, shrimp, lobsters, and oysters. The majority of Islamic scholars acknowledge all types of shellfish to be halal. So, Prawns, Shrimp, Lobsters, Crabs, and Oysters are all halal seafood in Islam.

No. Fish sauce has a much stronger fishy and salty flavor than oyster sauce, which has a sweet and briny flavor. Oyster sauce contains sugar and cornstarch, which makes it thicker than fish sauce, which is thinner and more liquid.

The unopened oyster sauce should be kept in a cool, dark place, such as the pantry, at a suitable temperature, and far enough from heated appliances such as the cooktop or dishwasher. Once opened, the oyster sauce should be stored in a refrigerator in its original glass container, with the lid tightly sealed, because warm environments can effortlessly form bacteria.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recipe Rating