Is Sriracha Vegan?

is sriracha vegan

Sauces are a widely preferred accompaniment that go best with almost any kind of dish laid on the table. And there are tons of varieties out there to appease different taste buds too. We have reviewed several condiments like ‘Tomato Ketchup’s vegan status‘ for giving the best vegan experience to our audiences. One more such condiment that’s become a kind of universal favorite the world over regardless of its accompanying cuisine is Sriracha.

Every sauce lover has heard of, if not tried the famous Sriracha sauce at least once. This tasty hot sauce from Thailand is a great addition to almost every dish. However, for those who also follow sustainable eating habits, the nature of the ingredients used may be a big concern.

“Is Sriracha vegan?” is a common question when it comes to talking about the Sriracha ingredients list, and so in this article, we take a look at the vegan status of Sriracha and assess what it is made of, just so you don’t have to!

What is Sriracha Sauce?

Founded by David Tran, who started producing his hot sauce due to the lack of options in the market – Sriracha hot sauce is one of the most popular condiments in the market today. Tran started selling the sauce out of the trunk of his vehicle, which ultimately evolved into Huy Fong Foods – the original company that is responsible for producing the authentic and iconic Sriracha sauce. Huy Fong Foods Sriracha Sauce has sold over millions of bottles today, and this fiery sour sauce is a favorite among all.

The sauce’s origins and influences, as well as its appeal, are diverse, and it can now be found not only at Asian restaurants, but also in chefs’ kitchens, culinary journals, and grocery store shelves around the world!

Sriracha is generally a great condiment to add a touch of spice and delectable flavor to a lot of food items, some of them being soups, vegan snacks, noodles, or breakfast dishes like homemade vegan Burrito. The sauce is a unique preparation that blends together different extreme flavors – sweet, spicy and sour!

On the surface, you may feel the answer to “Is Sriracha Vegan?” is yes as it uses ingredients such as vinegar, garlic, chili, and so on. However, the original Sriracha sauce from Huy Fuoy is unfortunately not vegan. Huy Fuoy has clarified that their Sriracha Sauce is not Vegan since the sugar they use to make the Sriracha is refined using bone char.

Another propylaea Sriracha company, Original Juan’s went on to say that their hot sauce is not vegan as well, due to the usage of sugar that is filtered using charcoal made from bone char.

However, there are tons of options of Sriracha sauces on the market that are explicitly vegan. Some alternatives are the Flying Goose Sriracha Hot Chilli Sauce, Organicville Sriracha, Yellowbird Organic Sriracha, Natural Value Organic Sriracha, and the Kitchen Garden Farm Sriracha Chili Sauce. Even though they may not taste quite the same, if you want something close enough, these are the best vegan alternatives in the market that you can enjoy!

How To Make Sriracha Sauce

How To Make Sriracha Sauce

In recent years, Sriracha has garnered a cult following, but this recipe allows you to produce the Thai sauce from scratch at home.

Sriracha Ingredients List Explained

Sriracha’s label just states “Chili” which can mean a whole lot of different spices and is way too generic. To get a better look into what goes into making this iconic hot sauce recipe, we have mentioned below the various ingredients it contains.

  • Chili – The chili present in Sriracha hot sauce is the red jalapeño that has a typical heat range of 2,500 – 8,000 Scoville heat units, which is pretty spicy! Some sauces opt for homemade Fresno chilies instead of red jalapeños as well. 
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Distilled Vinegar
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Sodium Bisulfite
  • Xanthan Gum
is sriracha vegan

Homemade Sriracha Sauce

Tully Zander, the VeganFirstTully Zander
"Spice up your meals with our homemade vegan Sriracha sauce made from fresh red chili peppers, garlic, and vinegar. Perfect for adding a kick of heat to sandwiches, bowls, and stir-fries."
No ratings yet
Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Total Time 30 minutes
Course Dips & Sauces
Cuisine Asian


  • 1 ½ lbs Red Jalapenos Sterns snipped off & leave the green tops intact
  • 6 Garlic Cloves Peeled
  • 4 tbsp Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 tbsp Kosher Salt
  • ½ cup White Vinegar Distilled


  • In a food processor bowl fitted with a steel blade, combine jalapenos, garlic, sugar, and salt. Pulse until the chilies are very finely diced, pausing as needed to scrape down the sides of the basin. Fill a clean jar halfway with the mixture, seal it, and set it aside to cool.
  • Check the jar for fermentation every day until small bubbles appear at the bottom of the jar, which should take around 3-5 days. Each day, stir the contents and continue to ferment until the chilies are no longer rising in volume, around another 2-3 days.
  • Transfer the chilies to a blender jar, add the white vinegar, and puree for 1-3 minutes, or until completely smooth. Place a mesh strainer on top of a medium saucepan to catch the liquid. Strain the mixture into a saucepan, pressing as much pulp as possible using a rubber spatula; just the seeds and bigger chunks of chilies should stay in the strainer.
  • Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to low heat and continue to cook for 5 to 10 minutes, or until the sauce thickens and coats a spoon. Refrigerate for up to 6 months after placing in an airtight container.


  • You can add coconut sugar to make your sauce more sweet
Keyword homemade sriracha sauce, Sriracha Sauce
Tried this recipe?Let us know how it was!

List Of Vegan Sriracha Sauce

1. Yellow Bird Organic Sriracha Sauce

Yellow Bird Organic Sriracha Sauce

First up, we have the Yellow Bird Organic Sriracha Sauce that is not only vegan but also 100% organic, gluten-free, and Non-GMO. Moreover, if you’re on a diet such as the Paleo or Keto diet, you’re in for some good news, because it is both- Paleo Certified and Keto Certified! It also has no added sugar or artificial flavors, making it a perfect combination. This perfectly blended spicy sauce is a great fit for every recipe that requires a zingy and spicy twist!

Check Price on Amazon

2. Sky Valley Sriracha Sauce

Sky Valley Sriracha Sauce

The Sky Valley Sriracha sauce is made with only the finest cayenne peppers, red jalapenos, and garlic while continuing to be completely gluten-free, and vegan. Each spoon of this sauce is a power packet with heat that only becomes better the longer one tastes it. The ingredients used are high-quality, and this sauce provides a healthy and delicious condiment that can be added to every meal.

Check Price on Amazon

3. Natural Value Organic Sriracha Chili Sauce

Natural Value Organic Sriracha Chili Sauce

The first organic sriracha to come up in the market was the Natural Value Sriracha Sauce! It is produced with organic sun-ripened jalapenos and is vegan, gluten-free, and gelatin-free. Great for salad dressings, soups, BBQ meats, fish, and other such recipes- the sauce can be used as a marinade, a base for stir-frying, or simply a topping. It is also available in sizes ranging from 72 oz to 18oz, allowing you to pick the one you’d like!

Check Price on Amazon

4. Kitchen Garden Organic Sriracha Sauce

Kitchen Garden Organic Sriracha Sauce

The Kitchen Garden Organic Sriracha Sauce is an Asian-style chili sauce created with organic ripe red chilies that are produced on the farm. They’re ground with additional spices such as garlic, sugar, and salt and then organically fermented, for up to a week. It has a bright, fruity flavor with a distinct garlic flavor and has a searing chili heat. This extra-hot, chili, and pepper Sriracha sauce checks all the boxes in terms of healthy, sustainable eating while also tasting great!

Check Price on Amazon


Sriracha is one of the most popular hot sauces that everyone deserves to enjoy, and so we’ve ensured that you get an insight into the best vegan alternatives on the market, so you don’t miss out!

Moreover, the sauce is usually created with simple components, like red chili peppers that are readily available in most supermarkets, and you can always try to make it at home and experiment if you love cooking or trying out new things! There are a plethora of Sriracha recipes available on the internet, for you to try and enjoy – so either way, you can pick the route you like, and try out this great hot sauce with a twist of your choice!

Sriracha sauce is safely vegan though not entirely healthy. Like all other condiments, it should be enjoyed in moderation. You can check our scrutiny on other condiments like Soy Sauce, Teriyaki Sauce, BBQ Sauce, Tahini Sauce, for its vegan status.


No, Huy Fong sriracha is not vegan. The company came out to clarify that their product is not vegan since it uses sugar. Sugar, even though it is vegan, is sometimes refined using bone char, which may be the case here.

No, in fact, it has been witnessed that certain ingredients such as capsaicin, boosts overall power expenditure and improve fat burning. Capsaicin is abundant in chili peppers and has been previously linked to weight reduction in studies.

For the longest time, people have wondered, “Does Sriracha have dairy?” The answer is no, Sriracha is a dairy-free condiment. It does not include milk and hence is safe for individuals who are lactose intolerant and are allergic to it.

With 1 g of sugar per teaspoon, sriracha has a considerable amount of sugar. 1 g of sugar is not much, and almost the same as ketchup which has about 1.2 g of sugar per serving, making it the average amount to be found.

No, Sriracha is a type of hot sauce just like ketchup. It has multiple brands that act as manufacturers- the most popular of which is Huy Fong’s sriracha sauce, the original and authentic sriracha sauce.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recipe Rating