Jack in the Box Vegan Options

When it comes to relishing a tasty snack or two, one name that instantly comes to mind is Jack in the Box. Whether you’re out on the road with friends or meeting a loved one for lunch/dinner, this popular US fast food chain is unbeatable. Salads, French Fries, Tacos, Burgers, the options are endless to satisfy your cravings and hunger both. And because these snacks and mini-meals come in a box too (with the takeaway option), you can easily pick them on the move.

Because this American brand is a fast-food chain, it’s natural that you may not be able to find too many vegan snacks or meals. For this, we have compiled some alternatives that can be your vegan travel snacks partner.

Also, limited as they may be but the good news is that Jack in the Box indeed has some options on offer for those with vegan preferences. This post intends to highlight on the vegan options at Jack in the Box so that vegans don’t stay deprived of these tasty treats.

Vegan Jack in the Box Options

What’s vegan at Jack in the Box? The following are free of animal ingredients and safe for vegans:

Side Salad (without croutons)

whats vegan at jack in the box

Where most other meals at Jack in the Box aren’t entirely healthy (though tasty), side salads make up for the health factor (and they can be made lip-smacking too). There are a few which are vegan at Jack in the Box, made from Iceberg lettuce, Romaine lettuce, cucumbers, carrots and grape tomatoes.

As for the dressing to add a dash of taste to these salads, there is the vegan Low-Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette. All other dressings used by this fast-food brand are made from dairy, such as the Ranch dressing, and the salad is served with croutons that contain non-vegan milk. So if you want to try out the vegan alternative, just ask for the one mentioned above.

French Fries, Hashbrowns and Wedges  

are jack in the box curly fries vegan

All these potato fried snacks are hard to resist at any fast-food restaurant and the same can be said about Jack in the Box too. These preparations are high in demand and for yet another reason besides being delicious. Are Jack in the Box fries vegan? Yes! French Fries, Hashbrowns, and Wedges are all suitable for vegan consumption. They’re even PETA-certified. Are Jack in the Box Curly Fries vegan? Yes! They too are vegan.

As for the yummy dip to complement these tasty treats, there are some famous Jack in the Box vegan dipping sauces. Do try out their Barbecue Sauce, Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo, Sweet ‘N’ Sour, and Teriyaki (read Teriyaki’s vegan status with us). If you wish to try out a healthier option to fries, you can try out veggie straws fries. But, before you start with it, first know which flavors of veggie straws are vegan.

Tacos

Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan

This yummy Mexican treat has found place in several hearts and restaurants alike and they are, therefore, served at Jack in the Box too on popular demand. Are Jack in the Box Tacos vegan though? Unfortunately no. There are no vegan options or substitutes for this delicious meal served in several combinations across the world. Truth be told, tacos aren’t even suitable for vegetarians, let alone vegans. They contain several animal products and therefore can’t be called vegan.

Jack in the Box’s regular tacos contain soy, milk and wheat allergens. Even the tacos themselves are made using beef and chicken as well as textured vegetable protein. With real meat in the picture, these tacos served at the fast-food brand are neither vegetarian nor vegan. If you love to have tacos, you can prepare one at home with veggies and this tortillas recipe.

Burgers

Jack in the Box sells some popular vegan burger options by the name of Vegetables on a Bun and Teriyaki Bowl. These two dishes are quite famous among vegans. The first one is essentially vegetables of your choice served on a bun (as the name suggests).

The latter is generally served at most fast-food restaurants with a meat item like chicken. However, if you’re a vegan, you can always opt out of meat inclusion in your bowl and replace it with a vegetable of your choice.

Sauces

We’ve already covered some vegan options Jack in the Box with regard to dips above. There are some others too like French’s Mustard Packet, Hot Taco Sauce Packet, Ketchup (check Ketchup’s vegan status), Kikkoman Soy Sauce (check soy sauce’s vegan status), Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce, and Taco Sauce which are vegan at Jack in the Box.

Drinks

Any meal at a fast-food restaurant is incomplete without a side refreshing drink. And Jack in the Box makes sure it has some chilly beverages for its vegan customers. The brand doesn’t sell any specialty drinks or shakes for vegans though; however, its sodas are generally all vegan-friendly. Options include

  • Jumpin’ Jack’s Splash (Regular and Diet)
  • Barq’s Root Beer
  • Coca-Cola
  • Coca-Cola Zero
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Fanta Orange
  • Fanta Strawberry
  • Gold Peak Classic Blend Tea
  • Mello Yello
  • Some Gatorade Flavors are vegan

Besides these, their Raspberry, Mango, and Peach teas are also vegan-friendly. You can also have vegan soft drinks. If you do not know which soft drinks are vegan, then you can check them in “Is soda vegan” article on out website.

Conclusion

Where most fast-food restaurants have limited vegan options, the vegan food at Jack in the Box is more than enough for this audience so it can relish a snack or drink without guilt.

Tully Zander

My life literally revolves around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan. My mission is to create a community of like minded vegans to go forth in creating a better and brighter world for humans, animals and the planet. Just like Gandhi once said: “The greatness of a nation and it’s moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.” – Gandhi

Leave a Comment