What is a Milk Derivative? Are Milk Derivatives Vegan?

what is a milk derivative

The literature on vegan food alternatives is still limited, so it is not a surprise that when reading a label mentioning “a milk derivative,” we are confused. What is a milk derivative? Is it vegan or lactose-free? In this article, we will be putting milk derivatives under the microscope to see what they are made of and what you should look out for.

If you noticed the term “milk derivative” on a food packaging label, you are right to look it up since the terms are never clearly explained. But that’s where a little bit of research will pay off. Let’s understand the nuances of milk derivatives.

What is a Milk Derivative? 

Any ingredient that stems from milk is referred to as a milk derivative. So, while it is not quite milk per se, it is definitely an ingredient extracted from some component of milk. It includes tons of ingredients that are usually properties present within normal milk that serve a multitude of purposes, including but not limited to altering a food’s flavor profile.

Here’s an example: when bread is being baked, whey powder, casein, milk fat, and similar milk derivatives can be used to add more flavor, color, or texture to the dough.

Here are some common milk derivatives:

  • Dry milk solids or skimmed milk (check vegan status here)
  • Curds
  • Whey or whey powder
  • Milk, whole milk, or skimmed milk powder
  • Casein or sodium caseinate
  • Milk protein or hydrolyzed milk protein
  • Lactose
  • Milk sugar
  • Concentrated butter
  • Butter oil
  • Butter powder
  • Milk fat
  • Milk salt

Now that we know what milk derivatives are let’s understand if they are vegan-friendly at all.

Are Milk Derivatives Vegan? 

As per Vegan Society, this is what veganism refers to:

Veganism is a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude—as far as is possible and practicable—all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose; and, by extension, promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of animals, humans and the environment. In dietary terms, it denotes the practice of dispensing with all products derived wholly or partly from animals.

So, in short, no. Milk derivatives are not vegan-friendly. They include ingredients extracted from milk, which in itself is wrongfully obtained from animals. Vegans are detractors of animal cruelty and exploitation, and the very definition of milk derivatives goes against those principles.

Since milk derivatives are not vegan-friendly there are other vegan milk alternatives you can look for such as coconut milk, almond milk, oat milk and many more. Vegan milk options are not just limited to adults but even toddlers have milk alternatives. But here’s a catch you need to be careful while handling vegan milk and check how long does the vegan milk last since they contain preservative and if not stored properly might get spoilt.

Can You Consume Milk Derivatives if you are Lactose Intolerant? 

It is not recommended to consume milk derivatives if you are lactose intolerant. Even if the product is labeled non-dairy, the definition of the term has been left quite loose by the FDA. So, if you have a severe lactose allergy, it is best to steer clear of milk and ingredients extracted from milk, or what we call “milk derivatives.”

The lactose intolerant demographic might suffer from allergy reactions such as inflammation if they consume milk derivatives because, after all, it is not so much an alternative for milk as it is simply an ingredient obtained from some property of actual milk itself.

Even if it is sodium casein, it is best to avoid it lest it triggers an unwanted reaction.The wrongful labeling of products with milk derivatives as “non-dairy” often leads to disaster for lactose intolerant people, so the next time you spot a milk derivative, try to keep it at an arm’s length.

Final Verdict 

So, as for what milk derivative is, it is an ingredient made from some aspect, component, or property of actual milk. So, it is, after all, an indirect milk product. And, as for whether it is dairy-free, not really. It is not technically milk, but it still has its roots in milk.

Lastly, if you are vegan and see milk derivatives as one of the ingredients in any edible item, try to stay away. It is not dairy-free or vegan-friendly. Ensure you know what you choose and always look at the labels before purchasing any product.

Frequently Asked Questions

Milk derivatives are not technically milk per se, and they are not direct descendants of milk. But they are ingredients extracted from some property or aspect of milk, so they are definitely not dairy-free either.

According to the FDA, milk derivatives (such as sodium casein) include “low levels of lactose,” so if you are lactose intolerant, it might be better to steer clear from milk derivatives of all kinds, just as a safety measure.

No, sodium caseinate is not vegan or dairy-free because it is a milk derivative. Hence, the way it is extracted is questionable to vegan beliefs and practices, even if it is not actually milked by definition.

The milk derivative in a coffee mate is sodium caseinate, one of the FDA’s “low levels of lactose” ingredients which still happens to be non-vegan and lactose intolerant. So, if you are planning on purchasing a coffee-mate, be mindful of lactose intolerance or vegan practices.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *